Changing Seasons of life - Food for Thought - Part 1

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 months ago

Hello People

Disclaimer!! This is a post written by pure and genuine conscience, so you won't find any personal images today!

old-age-360714_1280.jpg
Source: Google

At first glance, this title "Changing Seasons of life" might leave you a little confused or unsure what exactly it's referring to. But when you think about it some more, it's actually a pretty neat title! See, rather than just focusing on outward things like changing weather or seasons, this title is referring to the seasonal changes we each experience as we grow up. Just like how nature transforms from spring to summer to fall to winter outside, so too does a person internally transition through different phases as the years go by.
We start off as babes in our "summer" of infancy and childhood. Then as teenagers and young adults, that's a time of blooming and growth, our "spring" so to speak. After that comes settling into adult roles, which could relate to autumn.

Alright so I've got this little story for y'all today. So basically, my grandmother came back to visit after being abroad for years, right? She's been staying with my mamu this whole time. Anyways, my grandma has been feeling low for a while that none of us ever go to see her or spend time with her. I mean, she has a point - we're all busy with our own lives. But I felt kind of bad because family is family, you know? And she must absolutely miss all of her kids and their children. Clearly, she isn't as young as she used to be. Unfortunately, in the past few years she's started showing signs of dementia. So now her memory is really getting fuzzy and she forgets things easily. It must be so frustrating and scary for her to be losing her memory like that. I can't even imagine what that would be like.

Seeing her go through dementia really got me thinking about life and what matters. She's always been so sharp and vibrant according to the stories I've heard. But now suddenly she's forgetting people's names and who they are to her. That's got to be super disorienting and lonely. I started realizing how scary it would be to lose your grip on reality like that. To not recognize your own family. It made me sad to picture her confused and afraid. But then again, maybe she doesn't even realize what's happening to her mind. In a way, that could be a blessing in disguise.

Still, it was eye-opening to see how dependent she's become on others just for company and conversation. Her whole identity and purpose now revolves around interactions with her loved ones. That humbled me - it really drives home that we're not invincible. Our lives and memories can slip away before we know it.

It got me thinking how we work so hard and try to accomplish so much in our career. But none of that really seems to hold significance in the long run or may be in the end of times. I can't help but think about the long hours and responsibilities we take on to build a stable life and future, thinking this is what we are here for. But in later years, it's clear that her professional achievements count for little.

What's really supporting her now isn't any money or status from her past work. It's the loved ones who still come to visit her each day. They are the ones who engage her in conversation and bring her joy in her twilight years. As fulfilling as a career may be, it won't be there to see you through to the end. It strikes me that I've been so focused on climbing ladders in my own life lately. Pushing to achieve more and craving recognition. But if I take a step back, what will truly stay with me long after retiring? The answer seems to be people, not possessions or promotions.

Being there with her was a good reminder of where to put my energy. I want to make the most of the time I have with friends and family, not just my to-do lists and deadlines. Because at the end of the day, relationships are so much more lasting than any role or responsibilities could ever be. So, I'm trying to appreciate grandma and everyone else I care about more in the present. You never know what tomorrow may bring, so I want to make the most of the moments we have. Seeing her struggle with dementia is a real reminder of what really matters - family, community, our shared experiences. Those are the things that last.

Yours Truly,
@kinzaghauri

Sort:  

This left me in tears.

I'll forever cherish this small moment with her. I came from hospital, extremely tired and laid down next to her and she started massaging my head. I'm not even sure whether she recognized me or not

She did!
You were sleeping and she kept talking about you. It was really sweet :')

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65