Nature & Wildlife Photography ~ The Deer On My Street

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

My city is full of deer. I swear there are almost as many deer as there are cats and dogs. Here are some photos of a deer family taken on my street.


P7020237.jpg

Above: Here's Bambi. Last week there were two fawns but unfortunately only one remains. I believe the other was probably killed by a car. Cars are the only "natural predators" for these deer.

P7020218.jpg

Here you see mother and baby together. Don't they look sweet?

Mom&Baby.jpg

Above: I've only seen this once... right on my street.

P7020226.jpg

Here's Mom by herself... isn't she gorgeous?

P1260034.jpg

Finally, here's papa. Possibly. I mean we don't really know who the dad was because the males don't normally stick around. But whoever the father was, I'm sure he looked just like this!


These deer are Columbia Black-Tailed Deer, a smaller subspecies of Western Mule Deer. All photos were made by me, @keithboone. Thanks for taking a look!

Sort:  

This baby deer Bambi is really cute!

Thank you, I really love them at this stage while they still have their spots!

That is very cute to see such family very close. Reading your post I was wondering if people could domesticate such deer?
You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

That's a very interesting question... Reindeer have been domesticated for a long time. I believe there are farms that raise "domesticated" deer but they are not quite as tame as cattle. For an animal, becoming domesticated means being turned into a food source. Maybe it's better they stay wild!

Thanks very much for the nomination!

 3 years ago 

You are very lucky to have models for photo @keithboone, it is not necessary to go into the woods and hunt down the beast. You can just sit in a chair in front of the house with a cup of coffee and take such wonderful shots))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60