Anna's Hummingbirds ~ Wildlife Photography

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Today I had a chance to try out some bird photography. I went to a local park where there are a lot of birds and found a flowering bush that was filled with hummingbirds.

DSCF4960.jpg
Fujifilm X-T4, 200mm, f/4.8, 1/1600, ISO 2000

Above: this is a female Anna's Hummingbird... that's a Calypte anna if you care about scientific names.

DSCF4972.jpg

The birds were feasting on the nectar from the flowers of a Grevillea juniperina bush, commonly known as a prickly-spider-flowers.

DSCF4975.jpg

Hummingbirds consume food all day long, taking in up to half their body weight in nectar and bugs. Apparently, they will visit between 1,000 and 2,000 flowers per day!

DSCF5001.jpg

I was able to get within six feet of the birds and I stood there for a half-hour taking shot after shot. My zoom lens will focus as close as six feet and I noticed several times the birds got too close for me to capture.

DSCF5037.jpg

I'm not 100% sure but this one may be a juvenile male. Notice the little purple flecks on his throat. The adult males have a full head and throat this colour.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

I took these photos today with a Fuji X-T4 camera and 55-200 mm lens. I hope you enjoyed the photos!

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

I greatly appreciate the support! Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85