Steemit Engagement Challenge WOX, S10W5: Collage of my LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)

Greetings, Steemians! With this post I participate in 'Steemit Engagement Challenge':
https://steemit.com/@worldofxpilar/steemit-engagement-challenge-wox-s10w5-collage-of-my-life

This round was about creating collage, which was up to me.
I have a thick pile of various old papers, including colour and textured design papers, and old glossy magazines as well. Most of them we moved to the attic at our summer house, but the rest are still here, in the dusty box. So I pulled the box out of the sofa, and all the week was watching them, giving time for idea to mature out.

Of course, the stuff (i.e. various pictures) comes first, and than comes to surface the idea of what type of collage I could make. My first idea was this: natural landscape with huge cocktail and drink glasses added, with hummingbirds and butterflies flying around them, and me with camera shooting them. Idea quite simple and visually attractive. I found the drinks photos I need momentarily -- but no hummingbirds, and not even butterflies. So I had to put my first draft to pause...

2023-01.jpg

2023-04.jpg

By the way, look, I have such a useful book: 'How to Cut: Learning to use scissors'. I highly recommend it for those who are afraid of scissors and are too lazy to cut. Reading (and implementing) this book will help to understand how much fun it is. No, it is really easy! This has been my desk book since childhood, so I love both paper and scissors, and have absolutely no problems with that.

2023-06.jpg

The first thing I cut out were the eyes. Then I found a close-up portrait, with a fitting admiring "ah!" facial expression, what I needed.

Then the idea slowly mutated: my face admiringly looking at natural beauty, and my hand squeezing the camera somewhere on the side. To do this, I cut out a face, a hand, a small canon camera (the same scale as the hand), a cactus plain, a sad misty autumn landscape to contrast with blooming cacti, and one flower. The result is not exactly what I wanted, but .... but there are close-ups, and there is a color contrast - what I needed.

2023-07.jpg

I ended up with four sources being used:
-- Tear-off calendar (eyes)
-- 'Madame' magazine (female portrait and autumn landscape)
-- 'Elle girl' magazine (flower and cacti)
-- 'Photo workshop' magazine (hand and camera canon)
'The Russian Reporter' magazines were left unused; I value pretty much and still rather prefer to keep, that to cut... they are the faint trace of the freedom of speech that existed in Russia in the 2000s... that we dont have.

2023-08.jpg

I hope my collage was of interest to you.


100% SP (manual translation to SP)

Sort:  

Hello @jpegg

Thank you for participating in the collage challenge.

I don't know if this is your first analogue collage, I can tell you that I like the result.

I like the fact that you have been thinking about the idea for days...to make a collage takes hours of thinking and thinking and minutes of elaboration.

The composition and the combination of colours are very well balanced, the surrealistic touch of the phosphorescent eyes is very striking and the top part that shows a torn notebook page, gives texture to the work.

It is a very good work.

Unbenannt-1_3a Kopie.jpeg

 last year 

@silviadiez, thanks for the kind words. I'm not completely new to collage making, but so far I was doing mostly pure text compositions, from funny and contrastingly paradoxical phrases. In this piece of art, I applied a common sense of composition and the principle of a poster (large bright spot of color implied).
Hope I will "accelerate myself" and continue with collage-making contests, I really like this fun, and have a lot of magazines to recycle. 😛 Alas, all my text sources - what I like to play with in collages - are mostly Russian-language, so this component will remain obscure for most spectators...

 last year 

WOX Community Engagement Challenge Season 10W5

Смею предположить, что это не просто рука, а рука папарацци :))
Отличное решение и содержательные размышления, желаю успеха в конкурсе!

DesciptionInformationScore
Club Status (3 months)Club1001
Plagiarism Free1
AI generated post1
Steemexclusive1
Bot free1
Quality content5
Total score10
Verified by@bambuka09/07/23

Unbenannt-1_3 sKopie Kopie.jpg

 last year 

Ну конечно! именно так: глаза папарацци, а камеру сжимают руки-крюки (одна штука).
Спасибо за благопожелание. Не опоздал ли я с подачей моей заявки?

 last year 

Карета превращается в тыкву в полночь ))
Всё нормально)

 last year 

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Hola @jpegg, muy bonito y con colorido espectacular que embellece la presentación de su collage, lo felicito por su gran desempeño para este desafío. Éxito

 last year 

Gracias por sus amables palabras. ¡Me alegro de que te haya gustado mi pequeño pedazo de arte de papel! 😘

Hola jpegg.
Realizó un excelente collage felicidades.
Éxito en el desafío 🤞🏻
Muchas Bendiciones..🙏🏻

 last year 

¡Gracias! Me alegro de que te guste.

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

 last year 

Мне понравился коллаж! Яркий, привлекательный, читаемый.
Кажется, у меня появится новое увлечение :-)))

 last year 

Да, у меня видимо тоже 😎

 last year 

I find it awesome!

и даже обалденным :))

Your post is nominated for the WOX Booming Support Programme, @booming account upvote.
 
Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page are nominated. If your post gets an approval, then you get an upvote within a few days.
 
Good luck! @stef1
 
wox.PNG

 last year 

Спасибо! это всегда сюрприз, и весьма приятный. 🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44