How to make a GIF in Photoshop

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

I would like to share with you this easy way to make a GIF like this that I made in Photoshop to show my "Evolution" series of drawings.
Evolution_GIF_final.gif

Here is this process

Once you have open Photoshop go to File ---> Scripts ---> Load files into Stack
(click on the image to see it in high resolution)
Still001.jpg

A window appears to browse your files.
Still002.jpg

Select all the files you want to include in the GIF you will make.
Still003.jpg

OK, to accept your selection.
Still004.jpg

Go to Window----> Timeline
Still005.jpg

A new window appears bottom. Click on "Create Frame Animation"
Still006.jpg

Click on the right side of the Timeline window, on a small box as shown.
Still007.jpg

Choose "Make Frames From Layers"
Still008.jpg

In the Timeline window, all the layers that you have previously included in your selection will appear.
Below the thumbnails are buttons that allow you to play the sequence to check if the speed is adequate.
Still009.jpg

By select layers and clicking on the time marked, you can change the transition time to make it faster or slower.
Still010.jpg

In this case, I have set the transition time to 0.3s.
Still011.jpg

In order to save our sequence as GIF, go to File--->Export--->Save for Web (Legacy)
Still012.jpg

Check that GIF is selected as format to save.
Here on the right side of this window, you can resize the file before saving it. To do this change the percentage.
As you can see, in this example, at 100%, the GIF file will be 10.67M (see on the left side of the window), which is too much for this purpose.
Still013.jpg

I set it at 50%, then the GIF will weigh only 3.173M
Still014.jpg

Finally, save it in the folder you want.
Still015.jpg

This is the result.
Evolution_GIF_test.gif

Have a fine day!

100% SP (manual translation to SP)

image.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Greetings @jorgevandeperre, I really liked your tutorial! It is very useful for the community because we learn how to make gifs using the Photoshop application. I think your contribution to the platform is great. For that reason I nominate it for #wox-bestpick.

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@xpilar/nominate-and-get-rewarded-15-trial-upvote-nomination-day-96

 2 years ago 

Hi Gabi, thank you very much! I am very happy to know that you like my publication and above all that you find it useful because that was my goal.
I'm honoured that you nominated my post, thanks again!

 2 years ago 

🙏

 2 years ago 

Hi dear @jorgevandeperre, your detailed tutorial is very useful and clear so thank you very much :)

 2 years ago 

Hi @serap, thank you very much! I'm happy to know it.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome :)

 2 years ago 

Something similar can be done in the master class mode.
Great post, you can already see the interest of users))
I usually used online sites to create GIFs. Never tried in РS. And tell me, is it possible to set different time intervals between pictures or is the interval always constant?

 2 years ago 

Hi bambuka, yes it's possible. You can select the thumbnails individually and give them different intervals.
Regards

 2 years ago 

This is valuable, you can place accents on important shots.
Thanks for the answer)

 2 years ago 

You're welcome!

Your posts are always detailed and educative thanks for this my friend.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment.

You are welcome

Thank you for the glance behind the scene. I enjoy so much you work and variety of creation :)

 2 years ago 

It's my pleasure!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71