Fiesta in Muros de San PedrosteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago


Fiesta in Muros de San Pedro – Oil on canvas – 30 x 44 inches.

When the Romans reached the Atlantic Ocean, the western edge of their expansion into Spain, they called the peninsula, “finis terrae,” the end of the earth. Muros is a beautiful harbor town only a few miles to the south, and like many fishing ports, its patron saint is Peter the Apostle. Every year at the end of June, the inhabitants celebrate the saint’s feast day with concerts, masses, a parade, fireworks and dances.

If I had painted the fiesta “realistically,” this couple would be surrounded by dozens of other dancers. But I subtracted everyone else to emphasize the beautiful feeling that when we dance with someone we love deeply, we often feel that we are the only two people that exist in this world. These lovers could be holding each other anywhere, but at the moment, they know they are alone and dancing at the end of the earth.

The only other couple is the little girl, who is fascinated by the musicians, and the boy who ignores her to play his air guitar. Perhaps they are younger versions of the lovers. Perhaps they too will one day dance together and feel that they are in love, deeply, here in a fiesta at the end of the earth.

On my blog: https://johnmichaelkeating.com/2021/09/17/fiesta-in-muros-de-san-pedro/

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 2 years ago 

Grateful as ever, @stef1. Thanks for including me.

I like the painting very much, I can almost feel the moment of the day when the last bit of light from the sun is disappearing, to me, you caught all the magic of that moment. I also like the text very much, and I love how the crane gives a sense of contrast between the idealistic love world o the couple and reality, the bit of ugliness in their daily life.
Una obra maestra!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your perceptive comment and very kind words. I am glad you like this piece so much.

Dear friend @jmkartworks

I selected your post, for a nominat competition
Hope love you
Thanks

 2 years ago 

Thanks very much, @mrnazrul. I truly appreciate your support.

Awwnn,so lovely,I enjoyed this piece so much😊😊, it's beautiful

 2 years ago 

Thank you, @innovator05. I am glad you liked it, and thank you for taking the time to let me know.

I really love your realistic painting, there is a whole story in one painting.

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your support, @art-venture. I always appreciate your comments and kind words so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67