Wild Poppy Garden - My Failing as a Minimalist 🌺🪻🌼

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 months ago

sublimated-throw-blanket-mockup-placed-over-a-couch-arm-rest-m30951.png

Time and time again I try and time and time again I fail. Minimalism is just not my thing, lol! Honestly, I don't know what it is about "intentional creative chaos" that makes my heart happy... but it does, and every single time I attempt to create something simplistic - I hate it! To me, for whatever reason... it just feels incomplete, like something is missing. I suppose one could say that perhaps what I feel is "missing" in those instances, is my truth. And apparently, my truth is maximalism haha!

I can look at other artists and creatives works and be in complete awe of how they manage to create something so simplistic, yet simultaneously beauty... but every time I do it (or start doing it) I cannot seem to look at it in the same light, so I just keep going and going and then eventually it becomes what many may view as an overcrowded mess with failure to make use of creatively accurate "white space" lol - and yet - that is generally the point at which I become happy with it, lol.

20240708_181709.jpg

Flowers and nature are two things which inspire pretty much most of my creations these days and why not! They make my little hippie heart happy... besides, who doesn't love flowers anyway! The weather has been pretty awful so far this week, so we have pretty much been stuck indoors the entire time. Not that I am complaining... I love this weather, and I have managed to spend a decent amount of time doing the things which I love doing...

One of which is drawing. I decided I wanted to do something with poppies. Something minimalistic with poppies... haha, right! Well, the intention was there anyway.

20240709_153224.jpg

As with most of my work, the texture and layering begin pretty quickly, lol. Layers, layers, layers... yip! That's me. So it did not take long before my simplistic aspirations had flown out the window and I was once again looking at something entirely different. Just a little more detail here and a few more flowers there... and what design would be complete without a few wandering daisies in it, I mean pfffff!

20240709_164338.jpg

On and on it goes. Perhaps the reality is that I just don't know when to stop, haha! Likely. Over indulgence of most things is a good friend of mine, lol - but we get along well, so who's complaining! Besides, art is subjective, right?!

Anyhoooo, despite completely failing at keeping this particular design "minimalistic" I am happy with how it turned out and was particularly impressed with myself for stepping a little outside of a different comfort zone I have, which is colour palettes. Like most artists (I think), I tend to repeatedly gravitate to the colour combinations which appeal to me and sometimes I have to remind myself that some of what I do also needs to appeal to an outside audience which may have different colour combo preferences - well, a necessary consideration if I would like to continue making sales at any rate, lol - perhaps I should apply the same thought process to the whole simplistic design approach - nah, dot going to do it.

Wild Poppy Garden


Illustration28_copy_2000x2000.png

Nonetheless and no matter... there is the finished design and I am happy! I am however going to try to tailor a simplified version of it which would be suitable as a motif on t-shirts. Let's see how successful I am with that, lol. It will be a good test for me creatively... I have my chaotic design that I am happy with, so it won't feel like I am abandoning what "rings true" to my creative soul, but rather adding to it.

That aside though, I do like how it looks on textile... which is ultimately its primary destination when I first start out. What do you think of the end result?

mockup-of-a-sublimated-throw-blanket-m30950.png

mockup-of-a-throw-blanket-placed-over-a-couch-m30953.png

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Turned out awesome :D
Something magical about seeing your work in real life when starting digitally :D

Aaaah Thank you @phasewalker :) I appreciate the feedback!!

Something magical about seeing your work in real life when starting digitally :D

Absolutely! I LOVE it when customers share pics with me online to show me the purchase they made!!! Makes my heart happy!!! :D

Sure thing tho :)
Totally understandable :)
Wish you a wonderful weekend ♥

Many thanks :)

Very successful! Even if it doesn't necessarily match my style - I'm more of a monochrome person (grey, muddy brown and jeans blue are great... ;-)) and the highest of feelings are stripes, tone on tone...

But I know a good thing when I see it!

But I know a good thing when I see it!

Thank you lovely!!! Much appreciated!

Even if it doesn't necessarily match my style - I'm more of a monochrome person (grey, muddy brown and jeans blue are great... ;-)) and the highest of feelings are stripes, tone on tone...

Hahahaha!!! I hear you @weisser-rabe :D I have my monochrome days... but they are few and far between lol

Thank you so much for the feedback!!! ALWAYS appreciated!

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!
This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @weisser-rabe

Baie Baie Dankie @weisser-rabe <3

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36