There is no such thing as too many flowers...

in WORLD OF XPILARlast month

Screenshot 2024-07-16 112653.png

Flowers always make people better, happier, and more helpful; they are sunshine, food and medicine to the mind.
– Luther Burbank

I could not agree more!!!! To me, there really is no such thing as too many flowers. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I was raised by a mom who nurtured such a great love, appreciation and respect for nature within me that I find myself so drawn to beautiful blooms as a woman myself.

In our home, wherever that was - there were always freshly cut flowers from the garden... my mom made sure of it, and there is something so special about those little pops of colour dotted around the house. In my moms case, it was not always necessarily a whole "arrangement" of flowers... sometimes, it was just a tiny little vase on a bathroom shelf with one single bloom in it. Perhaps it had broken in the wind, or was going to start dying soon - whatever the reason, my mom never needed much encouragement for filling our surrounds with beautiful blooms!

kitsch-inspired-mockup-featuring-an-ai-created-art-print-placed-on-a-bedroom-wall-m39895.jpg

Some years back I did a collection of illustrations called Where the Wildflowers Grow. It was inspired by my mom and her love for flowers and nature in general. After having spent years focusing on abstract portraiture I was looking for a change and that was the direction I took. Honestly, I have never looked back! I absolutely LOVE that mother nature is the focal point of my art and designs - it is my own personal soul food!

Lately, I have become a little bit obsessed with collage art. Sure, most of my work has always incorporated a bit of "collage" as I do a lot of layering, but it has never really been predominantly collage. I have no idea where this sudden inclination came from, but I am really enjoying the exploration.

duvet-cover-mockup-featuring-a-stylish-bedroom-31287.jpg

Choosing colour palettes to create with is also something I loooove doing. I have collections and collections of colour palettes saved digitally. I will be dead before I get to use them all, but I just love collecting them, lol Below was the palette inspiration for my latest collection design.

430c5e7d25e658df24bce5d21f4df04e.png
Image Source

Lovely, isn't it?! Well I think it is anyway haha! What I enjoy most about looking for outside suggestion when it comes to colour palettes because it forces me out of my own colour comfort zone a lot of the time... not that PINK is out of my comfort zone - nope, it is one of my favourite colours - second to green! So, here it is... my latest creation! I would love to know your thoughts... :) Oh and this is about a close to "tone on tone" as I get @weisser-rabe - which isn't, at all! haha!

Pink floral fiesta.jpg

Unlike a lot of what I create, I actually had a pretty clear visual intention of where I wanted this to end up and I am thrilled with the end result. Yes, I know it is kitsch and definitely not everybody's cup of tea, lol - but it is mine, and I think also that of a select niche audience, I hope, haha!

Untitled design.jpg

PINK FLORAL FIESTA

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

No, Jaynie: that's not kitsch! It's colourful. It has a cheerful, lively and stimulating effect on most people. All good ;-)) You put your colours together tastefully and harmoniously, nothing is not well thought out and deliberately combined. I know that. I just react differently to colour, I find it garish and confusing. That's why I avoid it and stick to clear and simple lines, few colours and, you know: everything tone in tone ;-)) I don't judge (I can show you some real kitsch if you like ;-)))). Just don't let anyone talk you out of your style ;-))

No, Jaynie: that's not kitsch! It's colourful.

Aaaah thank you sweetheart! I appreciate that, though I suppose it is likely some may consider it so.

It has a cheerful, lively and stimulating effect on most people. All good ;-)) You put your colours together tastefully and harmoniously, nothing is not well thought out and deliberately combined. I know that.

Thank you for that compliment!!! Harmony in colour is something which is really important to me - in art, design and life in general... even if it is en-masse haha! During my time in the NFT space, the people started calling me the queen of colour... which I always chose to take as a compliment, even though I am certain some people probably thought that I just didn't know how to work with colour so I just used them all LOL - not the case, but you know... humans! :)

I just react differently to colour, I find it garish and confusing. That's why I avoid it and stick to clear and simple lines, few colours and, you know: everything tone in tone ;-))

I find it so fascinating how colour impacts each one of us differently - but no, there is never a reason to apologise for this or to even worry about justifying it... each to their own :)

(I can show you some real kitsch if you like ;-))))

hahaha! I would actually be curious to see what you DO in fact consider kitsch.

Just don't let anyone talk you out of your style ;-))

Thank you <3 <3 <3

As for an example:

image.png

... and wobbling Elvis figures in the car aren't that great either ;-))

hahahahahaha!!!!! Oh my gaaaawd! lol

image.png

Many thanks @steemcurator03 and @o1eh <3 Always appreciated!! xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40