The Lady that bakes the bread.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 days ago

20240803_130951.jpg

When I started my sourdough making and baking adventure, I never thought that at some point I would be referred to by the local community as "The lady who bakes the bread" haha! - Not that I am complaining!!! I also never thought I would enjoy baking either... I mean, I always said to my mom that I suck at baking and would stick to cooking.

I actually commented on X just the other day whilst grabbing her mixing bowl out of the cupboard that if she could see me now, she would never believe that her mixing bowl was getting used almost daily for making bread dough, haha!

Screenshot 2024-08-22 122223.png

At the time, I just thought that if I could bake three loaves in the oven at once and sell two of them to community locals, then I would offset the cost of making the sourdough at home & reduce the buying of store bought toaster breads and sourdoughs (which are pricey). Well, it would appear I managed to get that right... and some! The people here are constantly raving about my bread :) and how it is the nicest sourdough they have ever had! - Such a lovely compliment and I will accept it graciously! Especially considering that I was ABSOLUTELY clueless when I started this whole journey.

GVGLsikasAAAXfn.jpeg

Now, I bake sourdough most days of the week and often, I actually cannot keep up with the requests for the bread... and I absolutely LOVE it! - I just need a bigger kitchen lol - and oven. That really, is my only gripe, is that it tends to get in the way of everyone using the kitchen for every day stuff... and when I need to cook dinner while I have three batches of dough on the go, it can get a little crazy haha - thankfully I am a total OCD freak and manage to "manage" all of that pretty well haha!

GVGxQVMaEAAUGVc.jpeg

So, in sourdough baking tradition, it is actually common practice and historically done - to name your starter. I named mine "Bumpkin" - you know... the whole "Country Bumpkin Land" and all, lol... For two years now, Bumpkin has been baking bread for the little village I now call home. When I moved here, I wanted a quieter, slower life... anything that was completely the opposite of the fast paced corporate environment I had subjected myself to for the 23yrs + prior whilst running my own business... and now here I am baking bread for a bunch of hippies and retired folk in a mountainside village in the middle of nowhere haha! I would say that is winning! :)

However, home bread making is not a particularly profitable business in most instances - sourdough probably being a little better than others... and I never started it as a money maker, but rather something I wanted to do because I enjoyed doing it... and I still do. Sooooo I have been thinking about how I could potentially expand that and make it a little more profitable. So, I have a new little scheme in the works... and I will share it with you all soon! YAY to my entrepreneurial spirit haha... now I just need to actually make the idea "work". :)

20240819_173525.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Love sour dough. Very nicely presented loaves. My daughter Inlaw is kind of in the same place. She started supplying family and that is continually expanding.

Este es el pan de concha dura como le decimos en mi ciudad Ojeda ( Venezuela ) me encanta lo compro en una panadería que tiene años no pierde la calidad, pero me gusta más los caseros y los tenemos como aquí hay muchos inmigrantes los italianos resaltan como venden , espero que puedas tener una cocina con mejor espacio y continúes con tu emprendimiento de seguro tendrás éxitos porque presentación tienes !!!

Quisiera probar uno 🤭 pero la distancia 🤷

Saludos


1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Amiga jajajaja eres increíble me atrevo a decir que esos panes te quedan perfectos y ni imaginar su sabor que gusto me daría probar y a rodajas de ese pan tostado a esta hora de la tarde cuando me dan antojos que no me puedo resistir , que tengas éxitos con los panes tu querida madre estaría feliz vfe verte utilizando su bowl cada vez que amasas que tengas un gran día abrazos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66