Steak Night, Date Night - South African Style!

in WORLD OF XPILAR14 days ago

20240726_181830_remastered.jpg

It has been bitterly cold for the last couple of weeks so though I was keen to go out for dinner on Friday night, I knew it was going to have to be somewhere warm and cozy! To my mind - that is pretty much always going to steer in the direction of a steakhouse or an Italian restaurant. Either would have been good for me, but Dave is deep into this whole carnivore diet thingy... so a steakhouse definitely seemed like the more suitable option for obvious reasons.

Central Hermanus has plenty of those, but there is one in particular which stands out in more ways than one - and that was where we decided to go!

20240726_165610.jpg

20240726_165627.jpg

20240726_165738.jpg

Pretty much opposite the old harbour and inside of a relatively small little shopping centre is a steakhouse on a different level. Though we live just fifteen minutes away from the town centre, I have actually only ever been there once before for a sit down dinner. We have popped in on occasion for a quick lunchtime snack or drinks and CHAR'D always seems to impress.

The one thing I fall in love with every single time I walk through their doors is their absolutely insane meat fridge! No, this is definitely not a vegetarian or vegan friendly post... sorry folks. No offence intended to anyone, but I absolutely freakin' LOVE that thing! I wish I could have one myself! :D

20240726_181848.jpg

In addition to the very cool meat fridge (no pun intended), are a few other pretty awesome details. They have a full gin and brandy bar and offer full tasting menus for both to accompany specific steak cutlets etc. The decor inside - though relatively upmarket is quite "steampunkish" so it doesn't feel pretentious or stuck up at all - in fact, quite the opposite... and the staff are always really fantastic as well as friendly!

This place really does give you the full steak experience and from the moment you walk through the door, you know you are about to experience the real deal as far as steak is concerned. The menu displays a full run down of every single different cut of meat as well as what each is all about, the different ageing processes etc.

20240726_165757.jpg

20240726_165947.jpg

20240726_170034.jpg

20240726_170052.jpg

20240726_181840.jpg

Once at our table, we ordered a bottle of wine - for me obviously haha, because the only thing Dave could drink was water or coffee lol, shame. We got there pretty early, because... well, I am old and boring and was looking forward to coming back home after to binge on "The Blacklist" which is a series we are currently watching. James Spader is just fabulous! Okay, I have derailed...

After getting our drinks, the waitress arrived with a tray of their various dry aged steaks available. So basically, you can choose between the wet aged and dry aged. Anyone with any sense will order dry aged, but that is just in my humble, steak obsessed opinion. So, the tray she brings has a whole selection to choose from and she gives the run down of what is what as well as the cost for each particular piece.

20240726_171400.jpg

20240726_171413.jpg

20240726_171644.jpg

I ended up selecting a porterhouse from the tray, which is essentially a combination of sirloin and fillet. The chef gives you the option to have him cut the steak into medallions for you or to leave it as is. I opted for sliced - but only because I know this is an establishment that knows what they are doing. Dave, eating nothing but meat ordered a meat lovers tray which came with a selection of 3 x 100 cuts of your choice between dry and wet aged - and then he also ordered their chipotle chicken wings starter.

His platter came with a whole lot of sides - macaroni cheese balls, freshly baked garlic buttered loaf and battered onion rings. I ordered my steak with a side of veggies and a baked potato - but I got all of his sides too, so needless to say, I made an absolute pig of myself, lol! Also, please don't ask how we had the steak... there is only one acceptable way in which to have a steak apart from rare and that is bleu. If you are going to crucify your meat, then you should just go to Spur, haha!

20240726_173742.jpg

20240726_173831.jpg

20240726_173814.jpg

We ended up with so much food on the table that the waitress actually had to connect another table to ours so everything would actually fit, lol. Though, this only happened because the noob made the reservation (ie. Dave, haha) because if I had done it, I would never have made the reservation for two people... because no matter where you go, they always make you bump elbows with the person next to you - especially if it is a busy restaurant, so I normally bump the reservation numbers up by at least two people and then apologise for the "extras" cancellation after being seated haha - that way, you already have a table with adequate space.

But that aside, the food was absolutely amazing and I felt like a total glutton. I could not finish all the sides, but I did take the macaroni cheese balls home which made a delightful TV snack later that night! I also wasn't going to have a dessert, but c'moooon... they had Affogato which is like a glass of Italian heaven... consisting of a shot of hot espresso, poured over a scoop or two of gelato and finished with an optional half a shot of liquor or a dollop of hot chocolate sauce. Divine, right?! Coffee and ice cream are just the best suited couple :D

20240726_183228.jpg

It was such a lovely evening, meal and experience in general... so, a fantabulous date night all round. With tummies full, a warm fire lit, our series ready to roll and delicious macaroni cheese balls and a hot cup of tea on standby - the rest of the evening was just perfect too!

20240726_201627.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Hermanus is looking good...

It is indeed!!! I have to acknowledge the proficiency of the local municipality here - they are really fantastic - especially by comparison to the rest of South Africa, or even the rest of the Western Cape if I am honest.

I don't go back over the mountain to Cape Town much these days... but every time I do, it is quite an eye opener to see the deterioration in terms of cleanliness etc. There is just so much more squalor everywhere nowadays which is pretty sad to see.

But yes, Hermanus really is a beautiful little town :)

It's been a long time... 🥲

You should change that then. :)

 11 days ago (edited)

😊

You know the biltong alone would be worth the trip :D haha!

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

Thank you sweetie @ruthjoe <3 Much appreciated!!! Hope you have a beautiful Wednesday!! xxx

This is on a new level, past a restaurant, this is a whole experience. Looks awesome and tasty.

Thanks @ady-was-here :D and yes indeed and agreed!!! I was an experience!!! A wonderful one, which is always nice - especially when you are paying! haha!

That looks sooo good! And how nicely it's presented - I know that from steakhouses it's more rustic and a bit country-style. I hope the evening was as wonderful for you as the photos promise!

Thanks @weisser-rabe :) and yes, it was a super evening out, despite the cold!

As far as the presentation goes, yes - top drawer!!! As I said, I opted to have the chef cut my steak (which is not normally something I would do) but I knew my stukkie vleis was in good hands haha!!! and I LOVE that he left the fillet on the bone and stood it up like that as if it was the "star of the show" - it was very cool!

 12 days ago 

I have to admit that I am very much into the whole "carnivore thingy," and that looks like a pretty cozy and stylish place to enjoy it!

Haven't come across "bleu" as a way to do steak since we lived in France when I was a kid... but I am totally with you: Just wave that thing at the flames a couple of times, and we're good to go!

xo

I have to admit that I am very much into the whole "carnivore thingy,"

It does indeed seem to have a truck load of benefits and it is definitely working for Dave. If I did not have such a passion for potatoes, pasta and red wine I would give it a try for myself lol - so yes, I opt for the fasting rather haha!

Haven't come across "bleu" as a way to do steak since we lived in France when I was a kid... but I am totally with you: Just wave that thing at the flames a couple of times, and we're good to go!

Well, you have pretty much described Bleu :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46