You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Natural parachutists

in WORLD OF XPILARlast month

There is that saying "Some see a weed, others see a wish". There is so much of nature that us humans will deem a "weed" or a "pest" etc. for the simple reason that they grow in abundance or are considered "invasive"...

Like here for instance - the wildflowers which grow along the sidewalks and the open fields are mostly from plants which people would consider weeds - but, regardless - you cannot deny their beauty. Our spring wildflowers are famous in the Western Cape and every single year people travel from all over the world to come and see our fields of "weeds" haha!

The dandelion is actually somewhat of a miracle "weed"... which few people even know about. It is really high in all sorts of nutrition and has all sorts of medicinal uses too.

Humans are just too quick to write things off unnecessarily.

I love dandelions and you took some really magnificent shots @apnigrich :) Also - I have to add that I LOVED the title of this post - that was what caught my attention :)

Hope you have an awesome Monday and week ahead! :)

Sort:  

@jaynie, I'm glad that you liked my post.
The headline was born in my head after writing the article.

I know a weed that grows along our roads in the summer, but a drink made from its roots is sold in a store. Previously, this drink was even called a coffee substitute - chicory. It usually appears in July. But I have a lot of photos of him. I recently showed them to my former classmate. She didn't know that this coffee substitute was growing right under our feet.

The headline was born in my head after writing the article.

It was brilliant! :)

I know a weed that grows along our roads in the summer, but a drink made from its roots is sold in a store. Previously, this drink was even called a coffee substitute - chicory.

Literally a few days ago, my partner and I were discussing "what" chicory was... because neither of us knew where it came from and also never took the time to bother looking it up, lol. So thanks for that haha!

This surprised me. :) So I have to talk about chicory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50