Happy Hippie Doodles!

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 months ago

20240727_115235.jpg

Sometimes I think I was born in the wrong era, lol. When I look at anything from the sixties and seventies, whether it is clothing, decor, accessories, wall paper... it doesn't matter - all that COLOUR is like food for my soul and I can never seem to get enough of it! I don't know what it is, but that time period - especially the sixties - has always appealed to me from a creative standpoint. since I was a tween turning teen I have been drawn to those happy hippy vibes haha! I even owned a self decorated pair of bell bottom denims back in the day, which were covered with colourful doodles done by myself and my friends, hmmm - I wonder what ever happened to those!

I know that most of my art and design work is pretty colourful by default, but my palette choices have toned down a fair amount over the years - must be an age thing, haha :D and for the most part, I am happy with where I am creatively at this point in my life, but every now and again I get this little "flower power" ITCH in my bones and I have to let it out lol.

20240702_171704.jpg

I think that instinctively as people we are each attracted to different shapes. For me it has always been circles. I would say spirals, but apparently that is symbolic of madness - though perhaps that would be fitting :P But yes, circles are my shape! So, needless to say - about two weeks ago on a Sunday afternoon, I planted my rear end on the couch and started to draw a circle. Incredible, right?! :D

No idea, no plan... just a circle, and then another circle, and another. The natural progression for me is then to add shapes on top of that. There is something quite meditative about doodling... because you are not really thinking about what you are doing, you are just doing it and in that moment you just get lost somewhat... in the process of the developing shape and colour in front of you. No wonder I enjoyed doodling so much in the classroom back in the day, lol.

20240702_174932.jpg

About an hour and two relatively squint eyes later, I put my tablet down and looked at what I had drawn. Oh look Jayne... a CIRCLE - and not even a straight one, (though that was actually the intent) lol. It was... cute I guess, unsure of what I was ever going to do with this cute Sunday afternoon doodle, so I closed it and walked away.

I came back to it about a week or so later and stared at it for a while. There really wasn't much inspiration hitting me and my inner hippie felt totally deflated, lol... so I walked away from it again and came back to it yet again another few days down the line. This last time I sat down with it, I was clearly in a more receptive mood toward my colourful dot and so I began to fiddle.

20240702_182343.jpg

I am a total sucker for layers and detail, so any form of art which "draws the eye in" appeals to me enormously - so I thought that perhaps working with it in a patterned form would probably add an entirely new dimension to the singular, mandala like circle thingy.

One of the things my mom always said to me was "what sets a good painting apart from a great one is layers". Words which always linger in my mind when I am creating - because for the beauty of the layers to develop and appear... requires patience - something I am not very good at, haha! So I often have to remind myself to be less judgmental as the process itself takes place... and I guess that is what I am attempting to do with this particular piece.

20240702_182453.jpg

So, unlike most of my creative posts, where you generally get to see the finished piece... I have not actually finished this one yet - no, still not :D - but it is getting somewhere and I am doing my best to just let go and let it unfold the way it was meant to - at the pace it was meant to too. :) But, I am liking what I am seeing now... a whole lot more than before! Let's see where it goes!

20240726_162636.jpg

20240726_162643.jpg

20240726_162657.jpg

20240726_162705.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

image

Join me on other Social Media

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

I love your designs. Indeed that is true we all have our own favorite colors talking about myself my favorite color is paragon. I just like the design of it.
Although, I have a dress with circle designs on it and it is really beautiful. It is an art to turn things from simple shapes to being supper attractive isn't it.
It looks so pretty already . I would love to see the complete piece in your other post too.
Oh! I literally do programming while doodling its another piece of art haha!!
I am literally unaware of everything of what i am doing but I am just doing it. Well, its a secret of artists haha!!
From being demotivated to actually working on it we make things happen isn't it.
I am happy of the recent results .Cant wait to see the whole piece.

Hi @djanita <3

Thank you so much for your kind words and the compliment!

I just like the design of it.

Oh me too! I use it a lot in my art. Must be the graphic designer in me :D

It is an art to turn things from simple shapes to being supper attractive isn't it.

That is precisely why I love working with geometrics when creating - and incorporating them into my creative chaos haha!!! :D

I would love to see the complete piece in your other post too.

When I eventually get around to finishing it, I will definitely share!!! and thanks again for the positive feedback on it so far :D

Have a wonderful Wednesday!!

xxx

U r such a talented sweetheart my friend, I hope you get the most appreciation for your work from each and everyone !!
Much love and power to you.
Have a bless week!!💕

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuu <3 <3 <3

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your comment has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

Thank you very much @aaliarubab :) Much appreciated <3

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your comment has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

Thank you so much @aaliarubab

I love the progress. I don't know how far will you take it but at this point, you can print it on to a cushion cover for your living. It surely has the power to liven up any space.

Thanks lovely <3 @event-horizon

I appreciate the feedback as well as the positive vibes xxx

Yes, that is pretty much where it will end up... on textile I mean.

If (or should I rather say when) I get to completing it, I will share xxx

Thanks again <3

Thank you so much sweetie @event-horizon <3 Much appreciated!!! xxx

🦋 Why we upvoted? 🦋
Because we enjoy entertainment and talent.
Good luck to you.🐞
🦭 It's great to have you on Steemit! 🐬

IMG_20240604_143039_435.jpg 🍀 @wakeupkitty 💕

Thank you @wakeupkitty xxx

You are welcome 💕💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52