[UNFORGETTABLE ITALY] Leaning Tower of Pisa

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

image.png


I think Tuscany is a very special region in Italy. And maybe it is one of the regions that can show you the Italy of the 11-15 centuries. Each city in Tuscany is very special and has a different atmosphere.

Today, I want to show you a very well-known tower that is located in Pisa. It is a Pisa tower or a leaning tower. It was one of my big childhood dreams. Before, I was reading and seeing Tower of Pisa only in books or on TV. I remember when I was a kid and learned about that tower for the first time, I was super curious about it. So, I checked the history and main facts about it.

The tower is a part of one of 3 buildings on Cathedral square. The construction started in 1172 and it lasted almost 2 centuries. When it came to building the 2nd floor the tower started leaning. Also, there were continuous battles in Italy at that time. So, the construction was paused for almost a century.

Only in 1233, it was decided to continue the construction. And it took time to review the construction plan, architecture, materials, etc. Later the construction was stopped again. And the bell chamber was installed only in 1372. There are seven bells in the tower, and the largest one was added in 1655.

The highest point of the tower is 55.86 meters. And it leans on about 4 degrees. But when the lean degree has increased several stabilizing works were done.

But why does the Tower of Pisa lean?

It is the result of an unstable foundation. And it makes the Tower of Pisa one of the most famous leaning towers in the world.

I followed some trends of taking pictures with Pisa tower :)


Location: Pisa
Date: October 2016
Camera: Nikon D5500

Sort:  

hello
nice place to visit
but why did you push that tower ? :)

I didn't like the way it leans :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52