You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 😴 Lazy? Or Unmotivated?

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Hey, I really like this post, because I have dealt with these things that you mention, I think with all of them: laziness, lack of motivation and depression. Happily, I have found paths and answers in the past.
In my search I found a concept that perhaps fits better: procrastination.
It is when you would like to do something but you keep putting it off, and putting it off. Until there comes a point where you don't understand why you don't or can't focus.
The answers that you find are several and they are not related to laziness, but are related to other deeper concepts: sometimes the desire to do something very well, perfectionism, do not let you see where to start.
Other times it is that we do not have a plan, we only see in the distance what we would like to do but there is no realistic method to do it, such as breaking the task into smaller parts.

Although it seems a bit silly, I found that in my case the latter helped me to focus, that is, to know what my goal is, and then divide it into mini-tasks. That opened a light for me and a path to start moving.

I have used it to do simple tasks, such as sewing, running errands, in Steemit I have not had this problem so much because many of the things I do are already pre-defined, I just do them and that's it, and I leave a margin for the ones I do new ones or I'm creating If I don't know what to do I go for the simplest, and so on.

My personality tends to be a little distracted, bohemian at times, I spread out, but it helped me a lot to write things down, know what I wanted to do, and then break those tasks down into smaller things. When you do one of those little things you feel a path opens up.

Perhaps in your case, you have not found that path, and that leads you to postpone it, it is something that happens to us that sometimes we do not know how to handle it.

That's my experience, maybe I'll give you one more piece to that puzzle you're putting together hahaha...

I leave you greetings and a hug, I liked reading you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you for mentioning some interesting points. I keep referring back to the first article that I reference which I'm increasingly disliking 🙂 They consider procrastination to be a sign of laziness and your perfectionism point as unmotivated.

I think that like you, when I do something I want it to be the best that it can be. Perhaps this prevents me from starting some things, because to do something to my best ability, I need to be in the right mindset and to be in the right mindset, I probably need the right motivation.

Much like my reply to this comment 🙂 I read it a couple of days ago when you shared it but I didn't want to "lazily" reply without the appropriate thought and effort. And perhaps in writing this, it highlights to me the difference between how I think about lazyness and motivation.

I think that my entire life is broken down into little tasks. I'd love to focus on doing one thing and seeing it through to completion but it would mean that I'd neglect everything else that (I think) needs doing. And perhaps that's why I struggle to write as much any more... I want to write the perfect post (perfectionism) which requires a lot of time (let's say 2 hours on average). I don't feel that it's something I can do in 30 minute intervals so I end up not doing it at all. So if I want to continue posting more regularly, then I probably need to find a way to write in smaller chunks and post it whenevevr it's complete.

maybe I'll give you one more piece to that puzzle you're putting together hahaha...

I don't think I'm ready for this puzzle yet.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46