Expressive Pastel Portrait of a Young Woman - Process

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

IMG_20210412_133942252.jpg

Hi everyone, today I would like to share a recent pastel portrait drawing of a young woman and the process that went into creating it.

I begin with a few lines with orange pastel to mark out the basic proportions. While accuracy is important the details at this stage are not as important. For the skin tone I will mainly use orange and yellow
pastels.

IMG_20210404_152934186.jpg

I then start to add details and make sure the proportions are still accurate.
IMG_20210404_160037673_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

I will use a brush to blend the tones together and use hints of complementary colours if I feel the colours are too strong. That means hints of blue in the face if the orange comes across too strong. I will also use some brown pastel for the darker tones in the face. For the hair I used hints of greens, blues and darker tones.

Final result....

IMG_20210412_133942252.jpg
Completed on A5 paper with coloured pastels.

Reference Image used


Thanks for checking my art work and for all of your support!


My Instagram

My Art Page

Sort:  

Amazing drawing @iansart. Thanks for sharing. 💜🎨

Beautiful drawing my friend. Greetings, a beautiful woman!

와 그림이 리얼한 매력을 지니고 있네요

감사합니다

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 3 years ago 

wow what a beautiful art work, looks so real. thanks @insart for sharing.
stay safe brother

Wow great drawings from the sketch to the whole body it’s amazing @iansart.

I really wish u can teach me how to draw🥰 once more great drawings.

Thanks @dianbrown :)

You are welcome @iansart where u from please🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79