Portrait of a Tired Nigerian man

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 days ago (edited)

IMG_8257.jpeg

As a visual artist, I see Art as a voice and I believe with my art I can communicate my feelings, emotions, struggles and cultural values of my people. My art helps me document things and moments.

In Nigeria my country, citizens marched out today into the street for a peaceful protest Nationwide. Many people came out in mass to voice out their pains and struggles due to bad governance, fuel scarcity, inflation, corrupt leaders and so many other problems. But prior to this day the government have been finding ways to stop citizens from exercising their civic rights. peaceful protesters were been shot at with tear gass today, simply because they want an end to bad Governance. It is really tiring and frustrating how the economy is getting really bad, fuel scarcity, insecurity etc. The minimum wage is nothing to write home about. Today I created this work just to give and hints of how tiring it is to be a Nigerian, especially in a system of government where the political leaders don’t value it citizens, they only draw closer to you when they need your votes and sometimes go even up to the extent of rigging elections in their favour. It makes me sad each time I see how government spend billions of dollars and Naira on frivolities, growing up as a kid we were told that we are the leaders of tomorrow, but since I was born the leadership has been recycled with old people, the problems Nigeria have is bigger and I hope things change for good, even though it may sound like I am dreaming.

Note

This post is not to downgrade my country but to create awareness of the struggles of my people. My Nation is a blessed country and there are so many positive things about my country, but based on the contest of the message I am passing I had to focus on it this way. So many bad eggs want to ruin this country but I am hopeful for a better Nigeria.

The materials I used for this work are:

  • Charcoal pencil
  • Eraser
  • paper

Below are progress shots

IMG_8240.jpeg

IMG_8241.jpeg

IMG_8242.jpeg

IMG_8244.jpeg

IMG_8245.jpeg

IMG_8247.jpeg

IMG_8250.jpeg

IMG_8251.jpeg

IMG_8252.jpeg

IMG_8257.jpeg

Thank You for the support 🙏🙌🏾🙌🏾

Sort:  

Saludos, @iamguchidanart.
Me encantó tu dibujo. Se aprecia el tiempo que le dedicaste el perfeccionamiento de los detalles.
Suerte.

Muchas gracias, realmente aprecio tus amables palabras y te deseo lo mejor también, gracias.

 2 days ago 

image.png

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

BottoSTEEM OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

BottoSteem
Robust Automations on STEEM Blockchain using the Power of AI

https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51