Lots of hiking and lots of rain (Day 2 🧗‍♂️)

in WORLD OF XPILAR15 hours ago (edited)

The hostel I stayed at last night was incredibly cheap, costing only $4 per night. However, it came with several significant drawbacks. The bathroom was very small, which was manageable, and there were no charging sockets, which I tried not to complain about.

However, the presence of bed bugs was unbearable. I couldn't sleep all night because of the constant itching on my legs. The irritation was so severe that I stayed up until 4 am and decided to move out in the morning. Despite my low budget, compromising my health was too much.

In the morning, I went out for breakfast, and my friend called to let me know he was coming to help. I told him about my decision to leave the hostel, and he offered to assist me in finding cheap guesthouses or hotels. Thus, our search for better accommodations began.

1000136536.jpg

It was incredibly hot in the morning, but as soon as we entered the Islamabad territory, the weather shifted dramatically, and it started raining heavily. My friend and I, both on a bike, were carrying a backpack and a small suitcase (which I was against, but my mom insisted I pack plenty of clothes and emergency supplies), and we were on the hunt for a guesthouse.

The real adventure began when our bike broke down in the middle of nowhere. I saw this as a perfect opportunity to take a picture in the rain. Rain in Islamabad feels entirely different.

There was no water accumulation on the streets, no litter scattered around, and no traffic jams. It was just pure serenity and calmness. Experiencing such tranquility made me even more eager to move to Islamabad permanently.

1000136547.jpg

1000136816.jpg

It took us at least 10 minutes to get the bike running again. I begged my friend to take me to a hiking trail, even though he’s not a fan of such activities. After a few minutes of persuasion, he finally agreed. Before heading to the hiking trail, we searched for cheap guesthouses for my accommodation. After half an hour, we managed to find one.

The guesthouse wasn’t the best, but it was sufficient since I didn't plan to spend much time in the room. The room cost me $10 for the night, which was reasonable. It had a bed and an amazing view right outside the window 😭😂:

1000136545.jpg

After finalizing the room, we headed to the hiking trail, which turned out to be the best part of the day.

The hiking trail had large posters at the starting point, repeatedly warning us about the free-roaming cheetahs in the forest. There was also an important notice advising against hiking after sunset. To ensure the safety of hikers, at least 25 police officers were patrolling the entire length of the trail.

Despite the initial hiccups with the bike and the hunt for a guesthouse, the day turned out to be an adventure to remember for a lifetime.

1000136569.jpg

I feel a bit crazy even thinking about mountains. If I had the choice, I would pack my bags and live as a nomad in the mountains.

Despite the heavy rain, we continued our hike. The trail offered absolutely breathtaking views. It stretched 8 kilometers up and then 8 kilometers back down, making for a total of 16 kilometers. It might sound easy, but it wasn't. It was a very challenging trek, compounded by the constant fear of being attacked by mischievous monkeys and huge boars.

After at least 45 minutes of trekking, we reached a rest station. This spot was designed for families or anyone needing to catch their breath. The view from this point was truly spectacular, making this hard trek worthwhile.

1000136576.jpg

The goal was to reach the top, where a natural spring sprouts from a rock. It's amazing to think about water naturally emerging from beneath a rock and how moving the rock would stop the flow. I don't understand this phenomenon—maybe I'm just not knowledgeable enough. Anyway, when I reached the 7-kilometer mark, I took a picture to keep forever in my memories folder.

1000136578.jpg

1000136582.jpg

I know this blog might have a lot of pictures and only a little bit of text, but trust me, these pictures are everything. For someone living in the extreme south along the coastline, surrounded by a concrete city with no sign of greenery or mountains, this experience is a dream come true.

As we continued our hike, we reached the Rawal Dam View Point. From here, we could see the entire length of the famous Rawal Dam in Pakistan. The sight was breathtaking and provided a perfect backdrop for more photos

1000136590.jpg

Looking at this picture, I just realized the Rawal Dam isn't visible. How foolish of me to take a picture at the Dam View Point without capturing the dam! But trust me, this was indeed the Rawal Dam View Point.

We were almost at the end of our hike, and our stamina was depleting, but we were determined to reach the top. My main motivation was to drink water from the natural spring.

It took us another 30 minutes to reach that point, but it was worth all the pain and hardships. The water I drank there tasted like it came straight from heaven.

1000136632.jpg

All of these people are waiting their turn to drink from the spring. If you ever plan on visiting Pakistan, text me, and we'll visit this spot together!

From here, we began our trek back down. It was starting to get dark, and my friend warned me about the potential danger of crossing animals. A fun fact about my friend: the last time he went hiking was with me when I visited Islamabad back in 2021. Imagine living here and not hiking—I can't.

The trek down was harder than I had anticipated. The steep rocks and the rain proved challenging, but I made it without hurting myself. On my way back, I had several failed attempts at photographing the algae and other microorganisms.

1000136586.jpg

1000136634.jpg

From here, we rode our bike to Daman-e-Koh. If you follow travel vloggers who visit Pakistan, you might have heard of this place. In fact, 99% of foreign travelers visit it. It’s a famous tourist spot, offering a view of the entire length of Islamabad from the top of a mountain.

I encountered a group of German tourists, none of whom were younger than 60. I had to admire their ability to trek to such heights. This is a sign for you, @weisser-rabe—when do you plan on visiting this place?

I tried to interact with them using my broken German, and I’m sure they were annoyed. 🤣🤣🤣

If you're reading this post, random strangers, I apologize for my broken German mixed with Urdu xD

1000136675.jpg

1000136650.jpg

1000136653.jpgthis guy got very famous due to an Australian tourist. I took his picture. Such a down to earth guy

On our way back, my friend asked me about my plans for tomorrow. Guess what I told him? I don't know. I don't know what tomorrow holds, and I'm not stressing about it. Whether I spend another day in Islamabad or board a random intercity bus to visit a nearby village or town, it doesn't matter to me.

For someone who used to constantly worry about the future, I made a promise to myself for this trip: I won't stress about a single thing. I'm here to enjoy the present, not to think about what's going to happen next. This mindset has been liberating and has allowed me to fully appreciate each moment.

1000136690.jpg

1000136683.jpg

Day 2

Total BudgetBudget Left
$280$195
Sort:  

I have no travel plans at the moment (I say that with some regret, but without sadness or remorse). I've travelled all my life, now I'm busy arriving, it seems.

I can't help but think you look happy in the rainy mountains....

I fully understand.

TEAM 1

Congratulations!

THE QUEST TEAM has supported your post. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags


post.PNG

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30