Mason bee drinking water from woodchips

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

After a fresh rain I found many of my bees, a female Osmia Taurus just walking around on the woodchips I have all around. Upon a closer look they are lapping up the moisture that has formed on the mulch. Ground up trees are used to condition my soil, and glad my bees also have a use for it. I have tried putting water out for the bees but seems they only want to drink it from whats out in nature. Maybe we just get so much rain here in Georgia they have no need for me to provide them water. The solitary bees can just wait until the next rain storm to drink the water that is left over on the surface. The woodchips make a great place for the bees to land and lap it all up.

KWcVEiwEzuiCr2MCYHwiosb4bu7efiLJJ5KHTDAMftHgEdwXX16PCZFPz6hAB8QyaqX6duFr7zSV84v1YA.png

When I got up close with my GH3 camera I could see alot more detail. When I first saw the bees it just looked like they were wandering around and stopping every so often. But now it make sense they are having a drink of water.

KWcVEiwEzuiCr2MCYHwiosb4bu7efWjo7pziGC3fxdTp3vNdFFXeipEts5ECwgDTUwrwM1e6TiX58ViFJE.png

The little bee walks around looking for more wet mulch to drink from. I follow it with my camera and it does not seem to mind. The bee is on a mission and will not be bothered by me around them. I try not to make any sudden moves to disturb the water seeking bee.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46