Iguana

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

image.png

image.png

I was walking back home when I passed this huge fenced in vacant lot and I saw something moving. I saw something black and brownish and I thought, a Barba Amarilla (Fer de lance, that's the most poisonous snake we have around here), I was ready to jump across the street, but then I saw it was this little friend. Yes, a type of iguana, around here called garrobo or jamo. They are considered a delicacy and when the females have eggs they are very expensive.

In fact the people from place where I studied my secondary school, from the whole valley, are nicknamed "Comejamos" better said iguana eaters. There came a time when they were on the edge of extinction, but I am glad to say these iguana lovers declared them a protected species and they are now back to good levels of population. I myself have eaten them and not liked them very much, the eggs on the other hand are quite tasty. Of course I have years of not eating them, I know when things have gotten out of hand.

On the right of the second photo you can see a stone this iguana dug a hole under it and that is its home. The people who hunt them will put there hands into these holes and just grab them and pull them out. I wouldn't do that if you paid me a thousand dollars, there might be a snake there. Ok I might be exaggerating if its a thousand dollars and I am in a crisis I just might put my hand in there, but very slowly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43