Watercolor painting of our local lighthousesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

lighthouse.jpg

I did a digital sketch not that long ago and @weisser-rabe had mentioned to me that the perspective was totally off. I agreed and when I went to do a watercolor painting of this I wanted to make sure to pay more attention there. They also mentioned that the lighthouse had a little "twinkle" in it's eye and I hope I was able to keep that charm.

One of the things that's hard to keep when moving from a sketch to a painting is that "looseness" which, in my opinion, gives art so much life. I like seeing the evidence of the hand behind the painting. In some cases I will leave a little bit of my sketch lines behind so that anyone who looks a little closer will see the scribbles.

Here is that digital painting that I started with, in case anyone wanted to see some bad perspective!

OH-lighthouse.jpg

If you also struggle from bad perspective like me, I suggest you head over to @jorgevandeperre's blog and start following along his lesson plans. @jorgevandeperre has over 30+ exercises to get started and is even giving out rewards to students who complete homework!

I'm working on the next series of Color and Light as well so be on the lookout for that. I'm trying to figure out how to move through the color wheel in the most productive way so we make the most gains. So far we've gone through Yellow Bananas and Green Tomatoes. Up next will be blue but it may not be fruit this time, we'll see!

Sort:  

Very nice work, your brushstrokes are unique and give rise to a wonderful drawing. Thanks for sharing.

I still recognise the wink ;-)) Very accomplished!

 2 years ago 

yay!

 2 years ago 

I like this watercolor, better to play with a wrong perspective than a dull copy of a subject.

 2 years ago 

Thanks @jorgevandeperre, I used to do the perspective lines and make sure my sketches were much more accurate in the past. Lately though I just like to wing it and try for the "feel" first approach. Doesn't always look perfect but I do like giving buildings a little asymmetry if it give them a little personality, haha.

Thanks for stopping in!

 2 years ago 

That is, break the rules but with knowledge of what you do.

You post is nominated for „Visual Art“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

How are you, my friend, I haven't seen you for a long time?

 2 years ago 

Hey buddy,

I've just dropped another post. I hurt my back pretty bad and haven't really been able to sit down for quite a while. I'm getting back into a working schedule again but man, I'm feeling my age lately... Sorry I haven't been around and thanks for checking on me.

 2 years ago 

Yes, we don't get stronger with age. Take care of your back. It may be worth trying to work on the Internet lying down with a laptop. I do it sometimes.

Glad you're back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83