Sunset at deep covesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

deep-cove-sunset.jpg

Any chance I can get I love to bring my watercolors out into the world and play this fun game where I race the sunset. As the sun starts to set the colors begin to pop and the world reveals the most intimate of palettes which many artists refer to as "the golden hour". I agree! I'll set up a couple of sketches to paint and then go to work as the world changes around me. I desperately race against the clock as the light of the world recedes.

The clouds do funny things with lovely robust oranges and reds and they'll even go pink or purpley sometimes. The trees hold onto the light as long as they can, gripping at the warmth of the sun before it goes away for the day. Because the sun is at such an extreme angle many of the areas where the light can't reach begin to reflect the light of the sky and you'll begin to see the most subtle cool purples and blues.

It's a pretty exhilarating hour and when it's passed I only hope I was able to collect enough of the inspiration in my painting. Because of the paint sprint it's a chance for me to put my skills to the test and go against the clock.

More than just the passing of another day what are some of the meanings you take away from sunsets?

Sort:  

#wox-bestpick of the day goes to @fumansiu
This post is nominated by @nklm

 3 years ago 

Your beautiful writing and your picture complement each other wonderfully. As you said, the sunset is full of colors like a carnival. I like the soft colors you chose for your painting. Sunsets have an inspiring effect. I think it also has a power that bears the mood. If I'm happy it makes me feel peaceful, if I'm sad it makes me feel lonely :)

 3 years ago 

I definitely feel that mood bearing power. It's so cool how we can give meaning to the things we experience. Love dusk and dawn for their power to amplify that!

 3 years ago 

What a nice interpretation. By the power of dusk and dawn :)

 3 years ago 

Hi!
I love your creativity!
I will nominate a post for the competition
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@xpilar/nominate-and-get-rewarded-15-trial-upvote-nomination-day-31

 3 years ago 

Yay! Thanks for stopping in :)

 3 years ago 

Oh wow, you started a total snowball effect! What a way to start the day, so stoked so many people got to see my painting :) Thanks @nklm!

 3 years ago 

I'm happy with that!
:)

Watercolour is one of hte best medium to do sunset painting, especially to let the colours slowly flow into each other and create such beautiful color mix. Thank you Erik for your beautiful post and of course your painting :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

You are so kind :)

I'm not so sure why I picked watercolor but you're right, it would be hard to get the subtle color mixing with a different medium. I think one of the joys of working with watercolor is the ability to get some really exciting gradients into the painting. It gives me some good "happy accident" luck... occasionally ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43