Owls Head Post OfficesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

OHpostoffice.jpg

Tucked away at the top of the small town marketplace is this totally cool post office. It's got great little details like the circular windows and a spiral staircase at the back. The side of the building shares a friendly picnic area where guests from the general store eat their lunches. I was really struck by the shadow cast by the line of trees onto the building and got a rush painting them. After being so meticulous about the building it was a tense moment when I had to paint the shadow shape in boldly over all of the work. I just braced myself and went for it!

How do you stay calm under pressure?

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I can imagine the tension of randomly drawing shadows on a detailed drawing. To stay calm under pressure, I take a deep breath, and then I slowly exhale it. I repeat this several times. Breathing exercises are usually good for me. Telling the story of this painting helped me to establish a good connection with your painting. Also, the color tones you used are soft and full autumn color. I liked your painting :)

 3 years ago 

I like the breathing exercise. I often use deep breaths before going into a stressful situation to help me stay calm and centered. So glad you liked the autumn palette! I'm getting a real visual kick out of the changing leaves.

 3 years ago 

I'm glad the breathing exercise works for you, too, because it can be lifesaving :)

 3 years ago 

Has definitely saved me a bunch of times!

 3 years ago 

Great watercolor painting!

 3 years ago 

Thanks!

I love watercolour due its feature of ability to create complex subject but with minimal details. Maybe because the rest our brain is able to reconstruct itself. You have watercolour under control, it feels that the work came out so easily, really love it.

There are other watercolour artists in our community, maybe you have seen them @arcoiris and @raah.

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thank you for spending the time to look, so glad it was enjoyable! I have seen @raah's beautiful work and I'll have to see what @arcoiris is up to, thanks for the recommendations.

Hi Erik, you are now in our whitelisted users, I will share in our Moderator discord. Thank you for confirmation and here is the label, let me know if this is correct.

 3 years ago 

Thank you, yes, looks good to me :)

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87