Misty Japanese CountrysidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

zamecki-day-5.2.jpg

Well after painting a few floating cities I decided that I needed a break from the stretching. Buildings are far from my comfort zone and I'm pretty bad a textures when it comes to stone, stucco, wood, tile, etc... It was a push for me and I'm glad I'm venturing that way to solve those problems but for today... A return to the familiar! Ahhh mountains and trees. Growing up I used to watch Bob Ross and I always loved the way he would "cut" the mountains into shape.

zamecki-day-5.jpg

In this study I've done just that. It's a super simple three value approach. I start in with a big shape for the dark side of the mountain. Just paint the overall mountain line and fill it all in. After that I've made a layer in photoshop just above it and "clipped it" to the previous 'mountain shape. Here's a quick video about clipping masks if you're unfamiliar and want to know. After creating the clipping mask I am free to paint freely inside of my mountain shape to get the light side and add some tree business. I continued that technique to create all of the shapes coming forward as well. Big shape, dark side, light side, fluffy details... repeat!

zamecki-day-5.1.jpg

I really went nuts with this one and I think it's because I've been tackling subjects that are way outside of my comfort zone. It felt really good to come back to trees and mountains and such. I got to make the mountain seem epic and threw lots of mist around to keep that "quiet of the morning" feel. It's a peaceful scene :)

It's good to try things that are challenging that will really make your brain tired but sometimes it's nice to come back to the familiar. I wonder if this push and pull might be a good way to keep things fresh in your work? Do you find ways to stretch yourself as an artist?

Sort:  

#wox-bestpick of the day goes to @fumansiu
This post is nominated by @sacra97

Un arte muy hermoso el qué sigues elaborando.

He nominando para el #wox-bestpick tú trabajo @fumansiu en el worldofxpilar:

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@xpilar/nominate-and-get-rewarded-15-trial-upvote-nomination-day-75

Muchísimo éxito y un abrazote.

 2 years ago 

muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo para mirar mi trabajo

Muy hermoso. Una obra ganadora.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66