Journeys: Finding a purple pathwaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_6e91fa6d-6629-4c86-b2e0-ee41bd3d3b06.png

Hi again!

After the last round of AI "art" I wasn't fully satisfied... The thing I've found is that as in iteration tool it's fully unorganized and is more of a random slot roll of a chance than anything. Maybe that's a good thing, maybe it's a bit bad, that's part of my process with this tech for now.

I've found that using keywords like the kind of film as well as the kind of lighting is helpful. I've used "Museum lighting" and it yields some nice results. I've also started to experiment with adding things that I'm familiar with like "octane render" and "Cinestill 50", a combo of different things I've seen and liked. It's still a chance roll, but I can at least expect some kind of fidelity and grain in the image and that's at least a 'little' bit of control.

fumansiu_purple_alien_guava_berriesPeter_Mohrbacher_golden_rati_7a7129d3-c798-4f45-99ce-2307ed645d7c.png

I added "alien" to the prompt for these as I wanted to find something a bit more wild. I think it mixed in the typical "alien" face into the berry and I wasn't totally opposed to the idea. I've already done something similar in the green series with the alien family of tomatoes

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_242b83a1-ba55-43a1-80c6-a97988828d2a.png

I tried to ask the AI to push more toward a natural fruit look but I wanted to keep the alienyness.

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_53f994e0-661d-471f-a5d6-01f2fb764156.png

At this point I was pretty happy with how it looked like a fruit, but with a face. The first image is an upped resolution of the bottom left choice. I think this might give me my WILD reference for when I take the color study there.

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_ff7c81bc-95fd-423b-b1c5-4bfdf0d2072e.png

I was really interested in this sort of gem that was forming on the face so I decided to push that a little further in case I end up using it.

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_9869dd1b-5607-4080-859c-4a8c01a763c5.png

I finally ended up on something that I wanted to see with higher resolution so I asked the AI to give me a better version of the bottom left choice.

fumansiu_purple_alien_fruit_in_the_style_of_Peter_Mohrbacher_35_97a93c05-82cd-4f57-a3e5-91e5c455fc44.png

I think I've come to enough reference for my purple fruit so I'm going to take this into the paint stage now. I have to say I have mixed feelings about all of this and I want to be very frank about all of it. Do I like AI "art"? No, not really. I think that the sort of fidelity and 'look' of it is starting to become recognized by everyone who looks at it and is losing very quickly it's initial appeal.

This isn't to say that I think it's bad, on the contrary I think it is maybe going to develop into a fantastic reference and iteration tool. It comes up with things I wouldn't think of and the beauty of it all is that, BECAUSE, we humans have the imaginations to SEE things in the images that the AI delivers. The AI ends up serving as a great companion in the discovery phase of art.

Let's be honest though. These images are not finished. The AI does not have... Yet... The capability to interpret SPACE. A lot of the images that the AI delivers do not have a clear foreground, mid ground and back ground. There is a lot that is unfinished and I'm happy to be here to solve those problems and make something out of these explorations that can solve those problems.

Check in soon for another paint demo! We're going to explore PURPLE and I'm happy to say that the AI does understand a bit of color variation, so it'll be a breeze to paint through this with the reference it's provided.

If you're interested in color studies we've got yellow, green, blue and orange to check out.
Yellow Bananas
Green Tomatoes
Blue Buddies
Oranges!

If you wanted help getting started drawing, I highly recommend you head over to @jorgevandeperre's blog and start following along his lesson plans. @jorgevandeperre has a lot of great material and is very helpful in answering questions and guiding students.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

They don't look too friendly))
An interesting result .

 2 years ago 

Indeed! Definitely not something I would have found with a google or pinterest search. I'm excited to use these references for the next color study.

 2 years ago 

))

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

amazing.gif

HI Erik, WOX was now selected for the Steemit Challenge month. It would be good to have among the tutors and judges. If you have discord contact please contact me Stef1#0658

 2 years ago 

Sent you a friend invite. Been too busy to post anything new! I've got too much work right now, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56