It's ContemplatedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

The Locals

Every town's got em. The further down the path you go, the greater the picture gets. It's realized that I am only the smallest part of the countless efforts of so many people, every day. Thanks for being alive out there!

old-dude.jpg

Tried to get some guidance from a Leyendecker painting for this one. I really love the way he used shapes to sculpt out forms and went really bold with the lighting.

arrow collar man.jpg

old-dude-rough.jpg

With this sketch I wanted to try out painting in that way so I did my best to keep to simple shapes and values. The rest was figuring out where to keep things sharp and where to soften them out.

Doing practice like this is one of the ways I try to stand on the shoulders of giants. There are lots of great artists who I can learn from so I try to keep my eye out for paintings that I really like. What are some of your favorite paintings?

Sort:  

Friend @fumansiu
I Honorable nominat this this post of a competition.
Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68