Cloudy Side UpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Yes yes yes!

Another 3 parter here. I was totally excited about how the last image I did 3 of got more and more complex the bigger I went, so I decided to go for it again! This series started off with this smaller-ish 4x6" painting. I was captivated by the huge cloud floating across the bay and how it looked like a sunny side up eggy out in the distance.

Couldy-Side-Up-III.jpg
Minted on Hicetnunc https://hen.hicathon.xyz/objkt/574315

IMG_7736.JPG
The next size up is this here 9x12" piece. After going through the first smaller piece I had a better handle on the process for the sky and for building up the foreground. Listed on etsy here : Cloudy Side Up II
Cloudy-Side-Up-I.jpg
Finally, a big big big piece for me, 12x18"!! This monster was so intimidating for me because of the size and how difficult it was to work the watercolor. I try to get nice color transitions into places in the water and sky when I paint but because of the size, I both had a lot more ground to cover and also had to fight against the water drying out before the next color. It was a challenge for sure and I'm glad I did the first two in order to really 'feel' what I had to do in order to achieve the nice gradients. This big piece went up on the foundation app Cloudy Side Up I

I've been practicing visualization quite a bit lately after listening to a podcast about basketball players and free throws. The science suggested that visualization may end up being just as valuable as actually practicing. I think maybe a mix of both wouldn't hurt... What do you think?

Sort:  

That is interesting study, I heard that sometimes it is helpful to do little studies on smaller format to get a feeling of how the colours will mix and how the scene is looking like. I love the last one with such details,yellow ochre and burnt sienna give the feeling of autumn :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

This is definitely my "ode to autumn". A friend of mine has been asking for me to do a commissioned autumn piece for her big yellow living room so these are a part of me practicing to get up to the size she wants as well as the color palette. Glad you're diggin' the colors on the last one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71