Boats in the HarborsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

zamecki-day-21.1.jpg

I noticed that I have been painting lots of overcast and blue-er skies mostly and so today I wanted to push away from that for a bit and go into some more late afternoon colors. Out in the harbor from where I live lobster boats rock around in the gentle sway of the ocean. In the later afternoon they will catch the light from the sun in a very cool way and create very stark shapes out there. In my imaginative version I wanted to try and tell a little story of the two boats passing by and making small talk.

lobstahs.jpg

I guess you could say that these were a little bit more of a composition simplification exercise. There are lots of things to balance when approaching a painting and sometimes I lose sight of some of the elements that make up a nicely balanced picture. In this one I really wanted to keep everything super simple so that the composition would remain very obvious. I did a greyscale version first and tried my best to stick to the rules I created for it. I've been watching a number of tutorial videos recently and I've been starting to come around to the idea of making a daily practice out of just sketching compositions. The stronger images seem like they have a nice balance of shapes, big medium and small. Also a balance of hard and soft edges as well as detailed zones and areas where detail fall off. There's a lot to think about. I may have to make a little checklist at some point so that I can test my paintings before calling them finished.

And the journey continues.... All the best!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Very interesting way to get around 🤣 😂😅 🍄

You post is nominated for „Visual Art“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95