Portrait practicesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

5heds25.jpg

I am both proud and at the same time slightly guilty. This portrait is really an exercise in more of a copying approach. I hate to admit it but I spent a lot of time going between this and the reference I had and I think in some ways I lost sight of bringing the big shapes into play. It is inching closer to more of a photo realism finish and while I think that in itself is a display of excellent technique and focus, it's really kind of getting closer to a copying machine which I am not. I think I kind of got into the weeds with this and started focusing on smaller details probably too early in the process.

What do you think? Do you tend to approach portraits with a sharp focus on detail or are you more the big picture kind of artist? I'd like to see where everyone lands on this idea.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I think the work in the process start to ask for its own needs. As you are working, you discover what is the mental image you want to approach, in this case, strongly relative to the model. It's an amazing portrait, indeed!!

Thanks for share on the World of Xpilar!!


 3 years ago 

You might be onto something... perhaps we only "find out" what's going to happen by going through the process. Thank you for your insight!

 3 years ago 

Thanks to you for the possibility to dialogue through your art!!
Best wishes for all the projects!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29