Weekly Contest, "Creating Stories Week #23" | My Sister's Cravings For Filipino Native Dish

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

20210717_201336.jpg

Hello, steemit friends of the World Of Xpilar community. I'm glad I've seen this contest announcement because I like a free-style story so I didn’t fail to submit my entry.
I'm really into this story, and I'd love to share it with you all. It’s about my younger sister who now lives in America with her family.

Months before...
I am not sure if this is common to others, but every time she calls, the first thing that goes out of her mouth is her deserted Filipino foods. You know, funny because this is where our topic goes around which can sometimes end in disagreement.
She always sends us pictures of delicious foods I haven't even eaten yet, then suddenly she just calls because she misses the kind of Filipino food that when serve, our eyes will roll to search for something else. Of course, this food is delicious as long as it's not always served though.

Months later...

received_194594472616993.jpeg

She sent pictures of "malunggay" planted in a pot. This is my sister's innovation though😆. Everything is done just to satisfy her cravings for delicious soup made of fresh "malunggay" leaves.

To say, most of us Filipinos, if not all, are soup lovers. In my case, even if there is no other dish left as long as there is still soup or just mere soup... that meal is enough.

So we think that she has only worked hard and planted "malunggay" for soup. To my surprise, there is still a lot, like spinach and crops. She did make a garden at the back of their house.

received_238247301451649.jpeg

There, what I didn't know, her, missing those foods was that serious. And soon her picture updates were changed too. She now sends pictures no longer more about American delicious food, instead, these are plants that she will soon harvest and cook the way we native Pinoy does.

received_3862497330545296.jpeg
received_502345394173197.jpeg

And so the time came when she was able to harvest the fruit of her cravings. While very excited preparing that Filipino dish,

received_1471040683246478.jpeg

This baby girl finds ways to look near to what her mother was doing. She then steps on a bench for her to look at what her mom did.. full of surprise as this was her first time to see that kind of food, she then asked, " Mom what is that? Are you sure it is edible? Where did you know that these leaves are safe to eat?"

Boom! The mother was stunned by her daughter's sudden question.😅

And here ends our story ... I hope you enjoyed it.


By the way, this is a real story. Below is my sister's family.

Screenshot_20210717-200327_Gallery.jpg


About the Author

Mabuhay ! fabio2614 is a public junior high school teacher handling Mathematics in the Philippines. She makes sure to always have time with her two kids may it be indoors or travel. She blogs about life, recipes, motivation, and inspiring stories. Muchas Gracias!..

Sort:  

So cute and pretty baby girl, like the author...

omg my friend, if only I can give you a dollar, I'll vote on your post twice😁

 3 years ago 

Greetings friend @fabio2614

Interesting story where a young migrant girl decides to grow the plants to be able to prepare usual food from her homeland.

Thank you for your entry to the contest.

Participant #13

thank you so much friend adeljose

Hi there! Isang magandang katangian ng mga Pinoy ang hindi makakalimutang ang sariling atin. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

agree kabayan, kasi may iba talaga ilang buwan lang naka abroad...parang... a basta ewan😁

Hahaha gets ko na yan dear pero ang beshie ko sa New Jersey iba sila. Naglagay pa nga ng kangkong sa flower vase at don pinatubo pati na bunga ng camote Kaya libre na pangsahug at pang-salad. Para-paraan lang.

my salute to your friend... loyal pinoy😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64