Visited my Alma Mater after 10 Years

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 days ago

Ten years. One decade.

A lifetime or a blink of an eye?

It feels like a long time when I think of the future. But if I look back, it's like I'm only looking at the day before yesterday. Things that haven't happened yet always feel far away because of the uncertainty and the not knowing. However, the already happened events are familiar, known, and are a part of us; they seem closer. That's just my theory.

I visited my alma mater after 10 years on my birthday a few days ago. Despite being philosophical 2 seconds ago, ironically, I can't figure out if 10 years feels like a long time or not.

I have been visiting Lahore since graduation almost every other year to meet relatives but never got around to visiting the university or felt the need to do so except for a quick visit to grab my degree in early 2015. I don't count it as a proper visit because it was a weird convocation where families weren't allowed due to some political issues at that time.

1000059820.jpg

Convocation Day - 2015

What happened this time?

I was unable to find some of my documents for years. It was unbelievable because I never lost important stuff. I'm that member of the family who takes care of all things important or could be important, like warranty cards, business cards, degrees, ID cards, or that one mysterious key.

How could I lose such important documents that I might need at any time in life?

Not long ago, I had an epiphany, that I submitted some of my original documents at the university to receive the transcript and degree. I was supposed to get back the documents along with the transcript, but due to some reason, I couldn't. The guy at the student section told me to come after 3-4 days. It's common in Pakistan to suffer at the hands of government institutes like this.

I had to catch the next flight back home and couldn't stay for another day. I requested a friend to receive it on my behalf. I can't remember what happened after that. Either they didn't entertain the friend or she couldn't go. No one remembers anything after 10 years.

Therefore, this time when I visited the city, I decided to go to the university myself. Even the roads that lead to the university brought me nostalgia. Not the warm kind. I have always had a love-hate relationship with that place. In the four years, I never really got used to the hostel life. It's very tough to get admission into a government institute because of low admission and tuition fees, so more people apply, resulting in fierce competition. It's equally tough to live in their hostels because, apparently, the government is poor. There is never enough budget.

I didn't opt for private hostels because living outside the university wouldn't be convenient because of the commute and security issues.

1000059786.jpg

It was a different feeling entering the premises with my husband and kids for the first time. I was excited and nervous at the same time to show them around the hostel where I lived, the building where I used to attend lectures, the software engineering department, and the cafes that helped me survive because there was never anything edible cooked at the hostel mess. I couldn't take many pictures because I forgot to charge my phone that day, as mentioned the other day.

I don't know what's the current status but at that time it was a thing of honour to get admission in that university specially because the factory where my dad worked only used to hire UET graduates at that time because they were considered best of the best. Although that wasn't true, for my dad, it was a proud moment - her only daughter got admission into a prestigious university, purely on merit.

And yet I was (a tiny bit) nervous to show my family around because they had heard really good things about the university, and there I was showing them my hostel that was built in the 1970s, which nobody bothered to renovate afterward. Preserving the history, maybe? The Software Engineering department didn't look that bad from the outside, but it could be better. It was exactly the same as how I left it.

Despite some outdated buildings and poor hostel life, we had the best professors and fully equipped labs. For which, I'm truly grateful and have no regrets for not going elsewhere.

Oops... I am so immersed in my student life that I almost forgot to write about the purpose of this visit.

I visited the student section in the admin block and was quickly referred to a guy sitting behind a window hole. I gave him my details and requested him to find my documents. He was astonished that I came after 10 years for something so important. I couldn't tell him that I realized it too late where my documents could be. Anyway, he has again asked for some time to find my file from the store. If he finds it, he will give me a call. I'm not very optimistic, though, about the situation.

1000058436.jpg

The Yummiest Banana Feast - used to get it for 40 rupees back then and now it's for 220 rupees.

Before heading back, I took my family to a famous place called Annexe, true to its name. They had the worst outdoor setup, something like a dhaba but they served the best ice cream shakes in the world (possibly). After 10 years, they had the same orange plastic chairs and blue rusty iron tables, and above all, those smoothies still taste exactly the same. 😭

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted with a bonus by @franyeligonzalez,
which is a curating account for the WOX Community.

WOX_BONUS_Curation_Trail.png

Trips into the past are always a thing: you come back to the best and the worst... It must have been exciting for your children to rummage around in mum's earlier years.

By the way, I can't remember where my diploma is lying around... ;-))

Did it matter, in life? Your diploma?

The last time I needed it was for a certificate - subsidy counselling from the EU environmental and social fund. I applied for this in 2012. And then... no idea ;-))

Thank you. Needed that

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@event-horizon!
It has been featured in
THIS BLOG SPOTLIGHT POST!

You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

steemitbloggers gif 1.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34