From the Rain Boots to the Birthday Suits & the Farewell Cahoots

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 days ago (edited)

The first rain of monsoon brought my husband with it or it was the other way round? Either way, he came to pick us up from my parents' home that day.

The deal was to come back home before his birthday. Ok, not exactly a deal, me and kids didn't want him to spend his birthday alone. Although we (exclude kids) are not keen on big celebrations, just a nice dinner and occasional gifts do it for us. We never fuss over presents and only give those when we feel like it or when we know if the other desires something particular. Mostly our gifts to each other are not occasion-bound.

This year, I knew he had been actively looking for a decent smartwatch. He found his dream watch but the retailer wasn't restocking it until a few days before his birthday. His luck. I offered him to pay for his watch as a birthday present which he happily accepted. So, the present was settled just like that. I think we are past the stage of surprises. 😛

Coming back to his arrival... We didn't go back home the same day because we had some chores in the city as I mentioned in my rainy blog. In fact, we decided to stay there for the birthday. My parents took us to a pre-birthday dinner at a restaurant later that day.

It was an outdoor setup on a rooftop with a view of the famous lake of the city. We wouldn't have enjoyed outdoor seating if it wasn't for the rain earlier that day. Surprisingly, it wasn't that humid and the light breeze was cool.

1000053973.jpg

You will have to squint a little to see the lake or just look at the reflection of the boat lights in the water. There are many memories attached to this lake. It hasn't improved much over the years so our visits are reduced. Once it was one of the top places to visit in the city. Or maybe, just my priorities changed over time. It no longer attracts me the same way.

However, it didn't stop me from reminiscing about the old memories associated with it. I was only brought back from my reverie when a cat brushed past my legs.

The present was rather more peaceful with all my loved ones around. Delicious food, hearty talks, best people, and a great view. What more one could ask for.

The next day, it was finally time to go back home and it was also husband's birthday. We had breakfast with my parents and decided to have lunch at some fancy place on the way back home. Actually, it was me. I pushed my husband to treat me with nice food on his special day. 😆

So, we ended up at Belmorris, a 4-star hotel, which offers a decent hi-tea buffet.

1000054775.jpg

We both love hi-tea buffets. On my last birthday, he took me to a hi-tea, and this year on his birthday he again took me to a hi-tea. 😆

I think it was one of the best buffets I've had in a while and comes top of the list with Faletti's which I happened to enjoy during my last visit to parents.

1000054159.jpg

When the food is good I don't waste time taking pictures, so I have just one from the first round of appetizers. There was a variety of food in each course and almost everything tasted heavenly except for one or two items.

1000054192.jpg

I wrote half of the curation report sitting in this lobby. If you have read my recent curation report, you'll know why. 😏

1000054207.jpg

The plan was to get back home before sunset but we were able to get on the road when the sun was already nearing the horizon.

Kids wanted to have a pizza party for their dad once back home which we had to postpone to the next day because nobody was hungry.

And the next day, I couldn't join the family for the pizza party because I was at a special farewell dinner. I can't help sharing a mouthwatering brownie and icecream which you might have already seen at soulfuldreamer's blog.

1000054427.jpg

The blog was mostly about a birthday so it was looking a little incomplete without a slice of cake. Since my husband is not keen on desserts, we didn't have a special birthday cake.


From the rain boots the other day to the birthday suits the next day and the farewell cahoots yesterday, it was a happening week.

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 days ago 

mmm that food looks and sounds yummy

Happy Birthday to Mr event-horizon

I will forward your message. Here are some calories for you as a thankyou. 😄

1000053326.jpg

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted with a bonus by @o1eh,
which is a curating account for the WOX Community.

WOX_BONUS_Curation_Trail.png

Thank you @o1eh.

Enjoy every bite of your flavorful journey!

Happy birthday to your culinary companion! 🎉😊

Thank you. 😀

A very pleasant day and a very calm evening, One of the things I like most is having dinner with friends, especially dinner with a senior steemian sister like event horizon, I am definitely very happy to be able to share Steemit together 😆😍💕

@event-horizon

First of all, I wish you and your husband a lot on his birthday because I can give them this gift and I have a lot of prayers for you too and I wish you first. I have also seen and have always told you that I am very happy to see you, that you, MashaAllah, shine with your family, and that Allah loves your happiness in such a way that you share it with your own family. You give so much time and spend time with them, it is very good for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45