Photo contest: post processing #8 - High key

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)

Hola Amigos!!!


This week we have a slightly more specific challenge than the previous ones. In this opportunity our friend @bambuka asks us to take a photo with high key. For those of you who, like me before this challenge, are not familiar with this term: High Key is a type of photography where white is predominant and is characterized by reduced contrast in the image and the absence of harsh shadows in the image (I had to do some research).

As I've said many times before, I'm a lover of photography, but at the moment I don't have a professional camera or any other camera, I just have my phone with me. So, without further ado, let's get to what we came for!


image.png


As our first task, we were asked to take a photo, either new or from our archives. Unfortunately, winter with its beautiful white snow is great for this type of photo, but as you may know, not all states in Venezuela have snow, and I live in one of them. So I decided to take one from my archive. I took it some time ago of my daughter, and because of the light background I thought it would do the trick. With this picture I wanted to show a little bit the play between light and shadow.

IMG-20201219-WA0009.jpg


I lightened the image to achieve the level of clarity I wanted....

image.png


The next step was to enhance a little bit certain details of the crop top, hair and facial features.

image.png


I illuminated the surroundings a little more without touching the model , "et voilà"
This is the final image...


andy.jpg

I hope I have accomplished the mission:)




toonmecom_060609.jpg

Sort:  

I just look at the final image and see a beautiful girl, looking down. That conveys restraint. One arm, only hinted at in the picture, rests on her hip, that says: I know what I want.

If I were to give a story or better a title to the picture, it would be: restraint and initiative.

A beautiful, exciting picture!

I appreciate your comment. Really your appreciation is superb! Thank you for your visit and your kind words!

 last year 

Expectation...that's the first thing that comes to mind...there may even be longing (I don't know how accurately the translator can convey the meaning of this word)

What exactly is this young lady expecting... here everyone can invest "their expectations". In any case, it's a pleasant expectation.

A few points on post-processing. A light wall does not guarantee a high key if there is no such light figure on its background. In your case, it turned out the opposite - a dark contrasting figure.
image.png
According to the rules of the high key, the gray intensity should not exceed # II/

The approximation of the original photo to the high key made the photo more artistic and mysterious. You have left room for the viewer's fantasies and reflections. This attracts attention :)

====================================
Ожидание...вот первое, что приходит в голову...даже может быть томление (не знаю, насколько переводчик может точно передать смысл этого слова)

Чего именно ожидает эта юная леди... тут каждый может вложить "свои ожидания". В любом случае это приятное ожидание.

Несколько моментов по постобработке. Светлая стена не гарантирует высокий ключ, если на её фоне нет такой же светлой фигуры. В вашем случае получилось наоборот - тёмная контрастная фигура.
image.png
По правилам высокого ключа интенсивность серого не должна превышать # II/

Приближение исходной фотографии к высокому ключу сделало фото более художественным и загадочным. Вы оставили место для фантазий и размышлений зрителя. Это привлекает внимание :)

 last year (edited)

Thanks for the review. Although I liked the result, I wasn't quite sure what I was doing. I appreciate every observation. I will take it into consideration for another opportunity. greetings!
Gracias por la evaluación. Aunque me gustó el resultado, no estaba muy segura de lo que estaba haciendo.

Agradezco cada observación. Lo tomaré en consideración para otra oportunidad.
Saludos!

 last year 

👌 🤗👍
Saludos!

Good evening! You have an adorable daughter ;-)) This particular exposure makes her look ethereal, otherworldly. The way mothers like to see their daughters ;-))

 last year (edited)

This particular exposure makes her look ethereal, otherworldly. The way mothers like to see their daughters

Thank you very much for your words. I have always liked this kind of activity in which, as your words mean, you create something different to your own liking from something known. That is the vision that image processing offers me. I am very grateful for this opportunity where I learn while doing what I like.

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

New competition, "S6W4: DIY: Christmas Collage." Winning Pot 75 Steem!
do you want to know more?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48