My Fears Came True 😐 Liquid Spilled on my MacBook 💻 #club100

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians ✨

Liquid spilled in the Electronic Device is one of the most annoying situations. I had this bad experience. I will share my experience with you for possible such situations. I would also be happy to hear the advice of those who have experience it.

mac4.jpeg

Water spilled on my Macbook, luckily it wasn't a drink containing sugar, salt or spices. I immediately turned down it. In such cases, the device must be turned off so that there is no electric current. I placed it on a towel with the lid open to get the leak out. I tried to wipe between the keys with a napkin.

Then I cut the papers into small pieces and placed them between the keys. Thus, I tried to remove the water from the points I could not reach. This method worked and as you can see in the photos the pieces of paper absorbed the water. I repeated this process by removing the wet paper and replacing it with a new one.

mac6.jpeg

mac7.jpeg

The potential danger from water leakage in electronic devices is Corrosion. So what is corrosion? Actually, corrosion is what we call rust. Rust is iron oxide formed by the combination of metal, electricity, water and oxygen. So I tried to keep the Macbook away from moisture as much as I could. When I started the device, there was no problem and it worked normally.

However, after google search, I found out that the Mac may run smoothly for a while, and then the problem may arise. In other words, it could work for days or even weeks without any problems and then break down. This information worried me a lot.

mac3.jpeg

mac1.jpeg

Btw, I watched videos to remove the keys of the Mac, but I saw that there is a different key design for each Mac. Therefore, the removing process was also different. I didn't remove it because I was afraid of damaging the keys.

I managed to absorb the moisture from the keys to the papers, but I could not do anything for the speakers. I did a research for this and found on a website that there is a blower sound to remove water.

I am adding the website, I tried to throw the water out of the speakers by clicking on the place I indicated with the arrow sign. I turned the volume up high, it's quite annoying to be honest, but if it works, it's fine.

https://fixmyspeakers.com/remove.png

I started using the Mac, nervously. Because my works to do are waiting for me and I couldn't put it off any longer. I hope it won't cause any problems 🙄


I hope you all enjoyed reading my post ✨
Thank you 🤗

Sort:  

Great, then everything turned out well for now! The trend is towards backup ;-)) In case of late effects...

Prima, dann ist ja erst einmal alles gut ausgegangen! Der Trend geht zum Backup ;-)) Falls Spätfolgen eintreten...

You have a point. Backing up is the best possible action I can do 👌

Oh, no, a nightmare come true ;-)
Luck was on your side there. I hope it will stay that way. Otherwise another investment would have been necessary...

But the little pieces of paper between the keys look a bit like art :-)

Thanks for your positive perspective, I guess the only positive side of this chaos is that it looks like art 😅

Some art consists exclusively of chaos... or has only become art because of chaos ;-))

Wow, you are right. It is a great comment, I loved it 😀👌

çok geçmiş olsun 🤦‍♀️ neyse ki müdahale edebilmişsin

Çok teşekkür ederim, elimden geldiğince müdahale etmeye çalıştım, umarım sorun çıkmaz 😐

If you are still concerned with moisture, perch the device on the front edge down with a fan directed toward the keys. The fan will force any residual moisture away from the center hopefully to the front edge.

Hi David, thank you very much for your recommendation. I am afraid that I will send the moisture further into the device while doing that.

Depending upon the model, you MacBook will be similar to the one in the video. Beneath the keyboard there is a membrane that does protect the motherboard somewhat, but you do want to position the notebook so any moisture flows down away from the motherboard. The zinc on the board is very reactive and tends to be what corrodes first (eventually causing failure). Even if you choose not to use a fan, that is how you want to position the device.

In the video they talk about not using a hair dryer which causes its own problems. Using a fan, gives air movement without causing a static charge.

Thanks a lot David. I watched it and I'm happy that I did the right thing. In such cases, it is important not to do anything wrong at least. Yes, a fan could be one of the good choices. I play a waiting game 🙄

 2 years ago 

Greetings my friend, your interesting post has been upvoted by @petface, who is on the hunt for unique, quality content here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. I hope your MacBook is okay and you don't face any further issues. I recently had to restore my MacBook to factory settings so I do feel for you my dear.

Thank you so much dear petface. My Mac is fine for now, I hope there will be no problems. I hope you won't have trouble with Mac again.

 2 years ago 

Being able to manage stress in stressful cases where it is very possible to panic is a great achievement.
Your quick effort to prevent your laptop from breaking down both saved it and gave us an idea about it. I find this content useful, so I nominate it for WOX's 15% Trial Upvote. Good Luck :)

Stress is really an uncomfortable situation that prevents what we can do. I hope I succeeded. Thank you so much 🌸

Gerçekten tam bir kabus🙄 umarım gelecekte sorın çıkarmaz

Teşekkürler, umarım dediğin gibi sorun çıkarmaz 😑

 2 years ago 

Ohhhhh how bad to hear you had that accident. Fortunately, you did great for trying to save keyboard from moisture with the help of something to absorb the water.

Thanks a lot 😊 It was a really bad moment. Fortunately, everything seems to be fine for now, I hope no one experiences such a situation.

 2 years ago 

Undesirable one that ended good 👍🏼 You're welcome Enveng. Happy Friday

Have a nice week 😊

#wox-bestpick of the day goes to @enveng
This post is nominated by @serap

Thank you so much 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58