Weekly Contest, "Playing photographer #17" : Sewing Machines

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Sewing Machines

All the female ancestors of my family up to my mother knew how to sew.

Unfortunately, I broke the tradition...

I've tried a few times to sew by hand and by machine, but I'm only able to make a few small reminders...

Instead, my mom and grandmothers sewed everything, including wedding dresses, coats, prom dresses, and carnival costumes, but according to my mother, the hardest thing to sew is men's jackets.

So for me, it is obvious to be surrounded by sewing machines.

Today to participate in the contest by @adeljose I will share their little story with you.

Singer, the old story

20230415_153759_HDR.jpg

This is my great-grandmother's sewing machine, unfortunately in very bad condition. I believe it dates back to the early 1900s. Singer is a New York company, but the machines distributed in Europe were almost all made in Great Britain, actually mostly manufactured in Glasgow, Scotland.

A working machine like this can be worth over 2000 euros, but I don't think this is the case for how bad it is!

Actually, we have another machine like this, from my grandmother, in much better condition, but closed inside its wooden table and buried under a big pile of heavy stuff in the basement, maybe one day I'll show you.

Necchi, the best times

20230415_153449.jpg

This is the most used machine ever in my house, the Necchi Supernova Julia, Made in Italy in the 1970s, which has belonged to my mother since she was a girl. With this machine, my mother has sewn all of our carnival dresses since we were little, and then the coats and expensive dresses that we couldn't afford, but she managed to make them similar and so beautiful by buying fabrics that cost much less.

It is a modern machine, but still mechanical, that is, it works thanks to a pedal and a belt, with the same mechanism used by the Singer. This machine is fully functional and my mother still uses it to do some small jobs because she says that the electric machine doesn't have the same precision.

Brother, modernity

20230415_160648~2.jpg

Finally, this is the Brother PS-35 , a Japanese brand, purchased at the end of the 90s. It is a totally electric machine, with a small pedal, has a large handle and is portable, much more comfortable. It also has functions that allow you to make different stitches and embroideries automatically. However, if there is no electricity it cannot be used.

Furthermore, the electric pedal is less precise, that is, it cannot slow down to make one stitch at a time, as an expert can do with the mechanical pedal machine. At least so says my mother whom I interviewed to write this article!

By the way, now she only uses it for very small jobs and some repairs, as he no longer makes clothes. Sitting for hours sewing is tiring work and when I was little I didn't realize how hard my mother put in.

***

So this was the little story of the sewing machines.

I took these pictures with my LG Smartphone.

Thank you for stopping by, have a nice day to all!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

La primera imagen es una reliquia, la segunda es de la era moderna y la tercera es un avance ma de lo que la tecnología nos brinda pta mayor eficacia y eficiencia.

Sin muy buenas las tres fotos amigo @emmawalt, gracias por compartirlas en este concurso. Bendiciones y éxitos para tí.

 last year 

Greetings friend @emmawalt

Good photos and stories about this variety of sewing machines that have passed through your family, it is very beneficial to know how to sew to avoid paying the high prices for clothing.

Thanks for joining the contest.

Participant #5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55