Landscape drawing exercise

in WORLD OF XPILAR11 months ago

Hello Wox Community,

this is a drawing exercise I made to learn drawing a landscape.
The aim of the exercise is to place the objects on multiple levels in order to create depth.

20230507_210716~2.jpg

I did this with pencil, a gray pencil and a black pencil.

Here are some previous steps:

20230506_221220~2.jpg

I outlined the landscape with the mountains, the sun with clouds in the background and the tree in the foreground.

20230506_222805~2.jpg

Then I started coloring the tree in black.

20230507_205229~2.jpg

Then I added the house and some shadows.

20230507_210716~3.jpg

I added another large tree and other small trees in the distance and a very small house in the distance. Also I added other clouds and some shadows at the foot of the mountains.

20230507_210716~2.jpg

In the end I used some filters to give it a sepia tone and increase the brightness.

Now I see that maybe one of the little trees is in the wrong place and should be done more in the distance... among of other errors... too late :)

Maybe @ranartblog could give me some advice :)

Thank you for watching!

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

Hi,
Beautiful work.
I would make the far trees with lighter brightness value than the foreground tree.
Due to atmospheric perspective (the amount of atmosphere particles with distance), things get lighter with distance, with less contrast and details. Even their edges may become softer, and their color is less saturated, and becomes a bit like the sky color.
So, I'd suggest drawing most contrast and details in the foreground tree, making its dark areas darker than the background trees, and its light areas lighter than the background trees.
The same thing works for the ground.
Look in the next example how background mountains become lighter and with fewer details:

seashore-oil-painting.jpg

Same effect here. Look how the foreground trees are sharp and with details, while the background trees are with soft edges, less contrast and details:

path-in-forest-oil-painting.jpg

In addition, I would draw the foreground clouds bigger.
Background clouds are lower toward the horizon, like background trees are higher toward the horizon.
This will demonstrate that:

horizon-for-depth-when-drawing.jpg

I really like your drawing. It has a sense of depth. The foreground tree overlaps the tree behind it, which makes the illusion of depth even better.
Great job.

Thank you very much for your detailed answer. I will try again! I always draw single objects or some little composition, while I find landscapes very difficult. Your drawings are great!

 11 months ago 

It is difficult, yet doable.
With practice, everything becomes easier.
The more you get out of your comfort zone, the more you learn.
And feel free to ask anything you want.
Here are some quick tips:
How to draw with a sense of depth.

Thank you! I have months of exercises just with this guide! 🎨

 11 months ago 

:o)

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Thanks for the lesson, it was interesting to read. You will get a cool landscape!

Win A free 30% upvote, 3 lucky winners every day
Congratulations, you are one of the lucky winners

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Thank you very much!

Your post is nominated for the WOX Booming Support Programme, @booming account upvote.
 
Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page are nominated. If your post gets an approval, then you get an upvote within a few days.
 
Good luck! @stef1
 
wox.PNG

Thank you @stef1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72