CITYSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY/ART CONTEST WEEK #158 - Saint Patrick Dublin

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Hello,

This is Saint Patrick Cathedral in Dublin, Ireland.
With the first picture in this post I wish to enter the contest cityscape #158 by @axeman.

sanpatriziodublino.jpg

Dublin is a wonderful city I visited in 2008, I have very happy memories and a bit of nostalgy.

The city is often rainy but the weather change so quickly in minutes. I could take a coulple of shoots of the cathedral before to enter, I am not a photograph, also I remember a very little digital camera, so I need to be lucky with natural light or I can't do that much with photography :)

St. Patrick's Cathedral is a place of worship, but it is also a symbol of Dublin and all Ireland, as St. Patrick is the patron saint of the Isle.

sanpatrizio3.jpg

It is said that in this very spot the saint use to baptize people in a well, around 450 AD. St. Patrick's Day, March 17, coincides with the saint's death in the year 461. The cathedral, on the other hand, dates back to the 13th century.

sanpatrizio.jpg

The interior is spectacular and is very different from all the churches I've visited because in some ways it resembles a castle, with armors, flags and battle insignia.

sanpatrizio interno.jpg

Another symbol of Ireland, the shamrock, is linked to the saint. As he used the shamrock to explain the holy trinity and is often portrayed with a shamrockin his hand.

Later the shamrock became a popular symbol representing the island and the Irish culture, and of course a bit of luck! My luck was to visit this place, which I will always remember, and I wish to come back one day!

Thank you for stopping by and have a nice day!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

You are a winner of 3d place @silviadiez Collage contest, because your post is expired the WOX trial Upvote will be done to this post.

Thank you for participation.

 last year 

Thank you very much!

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Your post has been successfully curated by @franyeligonzalez at 30%.

His publication has been awarded for being one of the winners of the contest of the user @silviadiez.

We remind you to always include the source of the photographs.

Thank you for your committed efforts, we urge you to do more and keep posting high quality contests for a chance to earn valuable upvotes from our team of curators and why not be selected for an additional upvote in the weekly list of Top Contests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64