DAVID

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

IMG_4708.jpeg

Hi steemians....
It's been an awful long while....

Tonight I have an oil on canvas painting I wish to share with y'all. It is a painting replica of the famous statue of David by Michelangelo Buonarotti.
It is been a really long while too I did a monochromatic painted commission and this was a bit challenging.
Not just getting the overall resemblance of the famous status but also some of the intricate details like the hair especially, proved particularly tedious and got me working for extra hours and even days.
Also,I really struggled with getting the appropriate hue to depict the marble the figure was carved out from...yeah,I was as astonished and impressed as you are too when I first read Michelangelo carved that city-sized sculpture from marble. It is really an artist marvel that would still go down the anals of history.

IMG_4682.jpeg

Like I said,it is an oil on canvas commission painting sized 150cm X100cm, roughly 5ft X 3.3ft. I also spent a lot of time studying and interpreting my value scales in painting,just so I could understand the values of the hues better and also achieve illusion of three-dimensionality perfectly...

Enjoy!!!

IMG_4683.jpeg

IMG_4684.jpeg

IMG_4685.jpeg

IMG_4706.jpeg

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

That is beautiful painting, very good details and good reflection of light :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Thanks @art-venture.... it's always an honour to be appreciated....cheers!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43