You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit.com - Coding In The Community

A few years ago, I started a project on another website to start from scratch. It tapped into the database (so it could list the content), but when the user clicked on the links to the articles, it would either open on Steemit or Busy.

The primary goal was to create an advertising applet using Steem as the payment mechanism. An advertisement would be funded using Steem, and the person hosting the ad and people identified as Steemians viewing the page were rewarded. I was thinking in terms of an online newspaper where the readership was paid to read.

Everything was working well. I had advertisers lined up and I had the first sixty host pages working perfectly and then the wheels fell off the bus. Since Steemconnect and SteemSQL were necessary for the system to work, it was demoralizing when it meant starting from scratch. I am not sure which was worse: the thousands of dollars spent on the programmers to do the work or the months devoted to making it work.

Perhaps a consolidated proposal needs to be run by the powers that be.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Oh man, I can't begin to imagine how that felt. That's a massive risk with doing something that is entirely dependant upon something or someone that you have no control over. It's definitely an important point to bear in mind if deciding to progress. Thank you for sharing 👍

If you do get momentum on your project, cc me on your plans (if you remember). I don't have a lot of traction or sway in this environment but I can contribute my 2 cents worth and help spread the word.

 2 years ago 

I'll try to remember 🙂 I'm a sleep deprived father of 2 though so regularly struggle to remember my own name.

When my kids were grown up, I would go to Ukraine for 90 days twice per year and telecommute to Canada. That put me 7-8 hours ahead of my clients. I was a five-minute walk from the beach or the cafe I would meet up with friends. I would start work at noon and still be ahead of time.
You aren't sleep-deprived; you are living in the wrong time zone.

 2 years ago 

I don't think any time zone would work for me - Unless it was one of the ones in Interstellar where time goes at a different pace for me compared to the children - then 2 hours can be 8 or 9 😴 That would work well for me. Only when they're asleep though. When they're awake, I can rejoin standard Earth time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67146.64
ETH 3123.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80