[Photography] - The Face of Mother NaturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago


Hey everyone, how's it going?

Today's post is my entry for The World of XPILAR - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #070


121024797_10223617917893806_11127652341181794_o.jpg

the face of mother nature


Gear used

CameraLens
Sony A7 IILens Kit (28mm-77mm)

Shot Settings

Aperture (F-Stop)Shutter SpeedISO
F / 4.51 / 100 sec400
Edited With
Adobe Lightroom

This rock instantly captured my attention when I looked at it, I wanted to give some depth and to show how a human in terms of size can be insignificant to nature, looking directly into the eyes of a colossal that is earth.

Thank for stopping by! Stay safe!

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

I see a high forehead, nose, eye sockets and mouth.
Everything is in its place.
This is truly one of the faces of nature :)

Me has dejado sin palabras, la fotografía te quedo hermosa, muy buena perspectiva, buen enfoque, buenos detalles, te felicito. Suerte en el concurso.

 4 years ago 

Muchas gracias pelo comentario :) fico feliz que has gostado !

Nice shot. The person really helps with size perception. I also like how the upper corner is dark and mysterious.

 4 years ago 

Can you call this a low key photo?

@bambuka Yes, it technically is low-key. It has a chiaroscuro effect, being the right side of the image being dark and highlights the subjects (rock, human). @drephillip has a good eye for this type of composition. He uses the light/shade to his advantage in this photo. Good question!

 4 years ago 

@eiafpYes I agree.
I don't do much with deep shadows. But I like them. It's a pity that there are no mountains next to me. Have to practice in a dense spruce forest :)

 4 years ago 

Yes, it is a low key photo, I did look for the best perspective so that the shadow on the cameras view would help emphasize the face with what it's highlighted and hidden in the shadow, after that to counter balance I told my girlfriend to stand on the far left to help with the perception of "standing next to a giant" idea.
I love to work around with shadows and highlights, for me it gives more dramatic look and definately gives more spotlight to details that probably would just pass if it was all properly exposed , gives interest to the subject :)

I also have a rule for this, I photograph whenever the sun in winter is far to the east or west to help with the shadows, in summer when far to the west giving beautiful shadows and deeper colors to other places I can't shot in winter due to light setting too soon :)

@bambuka and @eiafp thank you very much for stopping by, also making it a interesting topic of discussion :)

 4 years ago 

This topic is really interesting. The high key and low key stand out from the row of the other photo. They give deeper meanings of perception.

At my latitude, the sun is almost always low on the ground, even at noon. The trouble is, there is very little sun.
There are generally gray days without light and shade :)

 4 years ago 

Gray days can be dificult to work around especially when the light makes all the color look so "homogeneous" , but there is beauty on those days too, for example I tend to edit it to a colder look, split toning to blues and darker feeling, giving that moody feel :)

 4 years ago 

Yes, in such cases, separate toning helps, that's for sure.
You can even get to surrealism :)

Excelente foto :) Abraço :)

Que imponente es la naturaleza.

Looking at this rock formation that suggests the silhouette of a human skull :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

More info: visit @steemitblog post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56