WOX Travel Contest | Week 21- Canberra Zoo

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year
I am here for the 21st time to participate in -

WOX Travel Contest

Thank you @o1eh, this is no more a contest for me but my passion.


IMG_20200112_120859.jpg

I still remember that hot, cloudy Saturday in December 2020. The weather was really hot, but when our friends suggested we go to the zoo, we all agreed instantly.


Screenshot (1035).png

Location from my house- https://goo.gl/maps/KirDUnzzMJ7vstXJ8

We made an advance group booking and reached the zoo at 9 in the morning. In fact, it takes just 10 minutes or so from my home.


IMG_20200112_124228.jpg

I could see the kids were excited, as they had been planning to go to the zoo, but the bushfires were keeping us from going there until then, so we took the first opportunity and reached there. We parked our cars, and we were surprised to see that the parking lot was almost full.


IMG_20200112_125743.jpg

Some of my friends had gone there earlier, but this was my first trip. I was amazed to see such a large area and so many people, which is rare in Australia.


DSC09370.JPG

Later, I heard that some of the rare species of animals were brought here to save them from infernal bushfires that had gulped the surrounding forests and left millions of animals dead.


DSC09368.JPG

I have nothing much to say today, so I will let my pictures speak.

But we saw a number of animals in the zoo, of which we had only heard the names so far.


DSC09373.JPG

I am sorry I am unable to give you all the images I took here because one of the kids had taken my camera with a promise to give me animal pictures, but when I received it back, I saw it was filled with useless videos.

We saw a number of creatures, some of which we had never seen before. We saw different types of birds, peacocks, and seals here. We also got to see an owl, but there is no photo of it.


IMG_20200112_121729.jpg

We kept moving further and saw lions and leopards in cages. Some were resting. I thought they got used to the sight of spectators.

After moving a little further, we reached a garden. There were many kangaroos forming quartets. On moving ahead, we saw a number of koalas. The most fun came from seeing a bear who was constantly circling a tree.


IMG_20200112_122213.jpg

White Lion Giraffe, Cheetah, Leopard, Tiger, White Rhinoceros, Zebra, African Lion, Common Eland, Spotted Hyena, Wapiti Elk, Koala


IMG_20200112_123202.jpg

Actually, finding your way to different sections in this zoo is accessible. Everything is systematic, and you do not have to ask anyone to find your way.

They had provided us with a simple guide map with our ticket, so everything was easy to find.

Having said that, the best thing I liked was the couple of peacocks that were kind of walking with us. Yes, we saw a few of them in the bird section, but some of them were roaming freely.


DSC09369.JPG

And it was wonderful to see people, especially children, touching and feeding kangaroos. But I regret giving my camera to my coworkers' kids, who thought they would take better photos of the animals.

I envy the people who come from faraway places and stay inside the zoo and enjoy the company of animals in an all-paid lodging facility, and I was living so close but could never find enough time for such beautiful creatures like penguins.


IMG_20200112_154620.jpg

I've been to a number of zoos in India, and this was my second, as I had seen Sydney's zoo, but this was far bigger and had a lot more animals than any other, barring maybe the New Delhi Zoo.

I will not mention Bangalore's zoo here because that is a National park, a jungle safari, and one of the biggest in the world. I can only say that I have seen very few zoos that are so well-kept and managed.


IMG_20200112_121729.jpg

The zoo gives you an idea of Australian animals as well as animals brought from different countries. They are so beautiful, and they looked happy barring a few.

For instance, this bear was walking constantly on a tree log. I think he was not happy here or missing someone.


IMG_20200112_153648.jpg

We walked a lot, spent almost 9 hours here, and really enjoyed our day.

The Canberra Zoo is spread over a large area so it was not possible to visit all the areas in one day. But unlike all other zoos, this one is the only one which is not run by the Australian government but is privately owned. So they charge a hefty fee. Luckey when we visited they were looking for visitors due to COVID and Bushfires so we got a nice concessional group entry.


DSC09367.JPG

We could have seen a few more sections but the zoo has so much for children that they spent a lot of time in kids' areas For instance the adventure playground. And trust me this is not just for the children but we enjoyed it as much as the kids did.


IMG_20200112_153948.jpg

We stayed there until 6 in the evening and were close to the aquarium, but then we decided to visit on another day, but we have yet to visit it. Maybe I will give you the details on my next trip.


IMG_20200112_160120.jpg

We could go close to them, and even touch them if we wanted to, especially since I had never seen this ostrich-type animal called an emu before.


IMG_20200112_152937.jpg

But what I loved most was that this couple of peacocks never left us alone.

NOTE: As I said in the beginning, the kids had grabbed my camera so I have most of these photos taken by my phone.

Beneficiaries WOX Help Fund and Burnsteem25

Sort:  
 last year 

I'm sure it was a very interesting trip. I love zoos. However, it is difficult for me to imagine how you and your children could endure there for 9 hours. Even if it is very interesting there, it must not have been easy.

About the bear. If he lives alone in the enclosure, he must be really bored. There is a zoo not far from me where 4 bears live in a large enclosure. They always have something to do :)

Despite the lack of a camera, you managed to show us many photos with various animals. I have not yet had the chance to see kangaroos and penguins in person. But I met them in this post.

Thank you for participating and supporting @wox-helpfund.

 last year (edited)

You said 9 hours,? We could not see even half of the zoo during those 9 hours and I believe you have never visited any zoo with kids 😄They found some interesting rope trollies and swings in the children's section and that took them a lot of time there. It was really hard to bring them out of those 6 children accompanying us on that trip.

And mind you we had yet to enter the aquarium.

It's spread in a huge area, have a look
https://nationalzoo.com.au/visitor-information/about-us/

 last year 

My daughter loves animals, so we sometimes go to zoos. But we go to those located not far from us. These are small zoos and there is not much entertainment for children. But the child is completely immersed in communication with animals. When the situation permits, we will definitely go to a big zoo, maybe to Kyiv. Especially since your post made us want to visit a big zoo :)

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ripon0630

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 last year 

Thanks @ripon0630 and TEAM 1 much appreciated 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61