#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club5050 | Walking the «tree snake « in Cape Town's botanical garden | #steemexclusive / 11 photos

in WORLD OF XPILAR5 months ago

DSC_01.JPG

Last week I showed photos from a park in Hong Kong. A most unusual park that was designed to look as artificial as possible. This week I want to show another park that is much more natural. Beautiful Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden in Cape Town, South Africa. The park is open year round and has an information center and souvenir shop. The park is a World Heritage Site.





The park that was established in 1913, covers 528 hectares. You will find more than 4.500 plants! As you walk you wil find boards with useful information about trees and plants. A beautiful park that ranks among the top botanical gardens in the world.






To me one of the most fascinating experiences was to walk the «Boomslang», as it is called. Boomslang means something like «tree snake». This Tree Canopy Walkway is a structure that does look like a snake, but built of materials like timber and steel. This 130 m long walkway is well hidden in the trees. It fits in so naturally that you hardly feel that it is an unnatural element. It winds elegantly between and above the treetops. In this way, it contributes to give a great view from a birdseye perspective. The walk starts at the ground. Then it goes up towards the heightst point of 11 meters, before going down to the ground again. The only thing you have to be aware of is that it moves when you walk on it. It rocks back and forth, but it is flexible, so there is no danger even if there are several people on it at the same time. There is a sign at the entrance warning that it is moving, but that there is no danger.


Definitely a nice experience to wander around the park, but I have to admit that the Boomslangen was a highlight.

Source:
https://www.sanbi.org/gardens/kirstenbosch/

CC @patjewell


Powering up 50% of all liquid payout! Thank you for the support for making this possible for me each week! 😂👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club5050 | An unusual park in Hong Kong | #steemexclusive / 12 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our blogs about travel, art, article and photo

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Hello!
I read your post, and then I kept it so that I could vote for you with Team 2, only to discover that my friend @ o1eh beat me to it.

The two of us have been watching the post as the vote was not showing. I see that it is at last showing, PLUS you had some eyes on your post.
Well done!

It was so nice to read a bit about my territory and the "boomslang."
Thank you! You did the park justice! 🤛

A bit about a boomslang. About a month ago, we put in a swimming pool. Well, the workers that were working here were all Zulu men. The boomslang came down the tree exactly where they were digging the hole. I just heard shouting, and when I looked, I just saw six men all running in different directions. Oh, it was so funny.

Unfortunately, one of them killed it with a spade before I could stop him. And yes, it is highly venomous, but still, we have snake removers that catch them and then release them in the wild.
See if you see the program "Snakes in the City."

 5 months ago (edited)

Thank you for taking the time to give me more information about the snake. I can well imagine the men running when the boomslang came towards them! I would centainly have done the same! Too bad it was killed. I shall see if can get a lood at the program you mention. Thanks for telling me 😊

 5 months ago 

Pleasure!☕

That is a real adventure to visit the park, that is a good idea to combine botanic garden and walk along the bridge. The best place for children to learn more about the nature but also to see how vast it is. Botanic was one of the sciences that was very popular early 19th century.

For people who visit South Africa definitely one of the place to visit.

 5 months ago 

The park itself is beautiful. I also think that it's a good place to bring children. They will learn about nature and I am sure they will love the walk in the tree tops as well. I think you are right about botanic beeing popular in the 19th century. I ave been to several botanic gardens during travels. Most of them originated in that century.

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 5 months ago 

Thank you! Much appreciated @o1eh :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51