#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | The beautiful Jummah Masjid in Port Louis, Mauritius | #steemexclusive / 12 photos

in WORLD OF XPILAR5 months ago

01.jpg

This beautiful mosque has been an active center of worship since the 1850s. A sacred place to the muslim community. It's located in the heart of Port Louis, the capital of Mauritius. The first to discover the island of Mauritius were the Arabs, but they never settled on the island. It was mainly the French and the British who did that. The name of the mosque was originally named Mosque of the Arabs, but it was not the Arabs who built it. The muslims on the island originates from India.



Even though I have been on the island many times, it might be at least 15 years since I have payed the mosque a visit. On my first day in Port Louis, I desided to visit. This huge building in white and green, dominates the street from a distance. To get a good photo I had to go to the opposite side of the street. It's Ramadan and I was not aware of the prayer times, so I asked a man at the entrance if I could enter. Just as I was inside, an elderly gentleman came towards me to let me know that I could not go beyond the courtyard. We started talking. It turned out to be well spent time talking with him. He told me he is a retired teacher and now he is helping out at the mosque. He knew the history of the mosque and was kind enough to tell me about the mosque and answer my questions.



The almond tree



He told me That when the mosque was buildt, it was only half as big as today and the main entrance was the wooden door on the back side. In the courtyard there is an almond tree. The original tree, that was brought from India, died, so this tree is a new tree. The architecture is not one particular architectural style. It's a mix of Indian and islamic style, with beautiful wooden carvings.


The womens place on the 2nd.floor



As he pointed out the archtecture and the entrances, he told me that everyone can enter from all the entrances. But this entrance is usually where the women will enter. They will walk the stairs to the second floor where they will be sitting during prayer.


I had read about a marble tomb next to the mosque. He told me story about this person coming from India, wanting to die and be burried in Mauritius. This door on the back side with colorful flowers is where the tomb is.


Before I went to this part of the mosque, I said goodbye to my «guide» of the day. When we parted he said to me that «this was my lucky day». It was indeed.

CC @patjewell


Powering up 50% of all liquid payout! Thank you for the support for making this possible for me each week! 😂👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | One of the best places for fresh fruits and vegetables – Port Louis, Mauritius | #steemexclusive / 7 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our blogs about travel, art, article and photo

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

I had to smile.
For the second time, I "save'' your post for when it is my turn to give you a curator vote, as I loved it.
It was my turn to curate, and when I opened your post, I saw you already had a vote... ggrrr! Then I scrolled down to see that it was from a teammate. That is when I started to smile. One for the team! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Keep on posting!

 5 months ago 

Thank you very much for your support! :)) Have a great Easter :))

 5 months ago 

It is a pleasure!
A wonderful Easter to you also. 🐰🐇🐣



We support quality posts and good comments posted anywhere and with any tag.
Curated by : @muzack1

 5 months ago 

Thanks a lot! Much appreciated @muzack1 :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66