My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Black & white photographs – a little bit of everything | #steemexclusive / 10 photos

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 months ago

DSC_01.JPG

I'm on vacation right now, but that gives me time to check all my files with photos. Often I have forgotten some of the good shots I once took. This is just a small selection of photos from places or trips I have been on. I also very much like black & white photography. Hope you will enjoy.



Underpasses can often be great places to take photos. Both of these were taken in Port Louis, the capital of Mauritius. The underpass goes under the motorway and right by the harbour.


This photo of a piece of a garlic was taken with a macro lens. I occasionally experiment with macro of objects such as fruit, flowers, etc. I have also tried on insects, but I don't think it has been very successful.



Architectural photography is always exciting, I think. It does not matter whether it is ancient buildings or modern highrises in steel and glass. These two photos were taken at a place called Jin Fei in Mauritius. The building is white. These parts that I have taken photos of, are taken on the roof of one of the buildings. It's a building on top of the building. You can walk all around it, even it is surrounded by water (low)


Nature and animals in black & white does work some time. I am not sure about this one, but I chose to add this photo because I want to check if anyone can spot the caiman hidden somewhere here... In black & white, it was much more dificult to spot him. The photo was taken in the Esteros del Ibera National Park, located in northern Argentina. These wetlands are the second largest in South America.


Maybe this photo is nicer in color? But it is not difficult to see that it is Coca Cola boxes in the window. It doesn't matter if we don't see that they are red. They are piled up in a window, where the glass is missing. Above the building there was the name of a restaurant. But it was closed. The door was padlocked and the windows were covered with boxes. The picture was taken in Iguazu in northern Argentina.


Landscapes can look amazing in black & white. When I took this photo there were hardly in color anyway. The trees were almost black and only light colors of the sky and the lake in the background. It was a grey day with some rain. The place is Lake Epecuén in Argentina. The landscape and especially the trees look dead, because of once been flooded. A dam broke in 1985 because of storms, causing the dike unable to protect the small town by the shore. The town and the shores were flooded and covered by water up to 10 meters. It took 25 years for the water to reside. When I was visting the place in 2023, this is what the landscape looks like.


When I go through photos, I see that I often take photos of people when the sun is low in front of me. I like it when people turn out as black silhouettes. This photo shows people at sunset crossing the old wooden bridge called U-Bein bridge, located in Amarapura in central Myanmar. This bridge is the longest bridge made of teak. I walk across the bridge too. A few planks are missing here and there, but it went just fine.

CC @patjewell


Powering up 50% of all liquid payout! Thank you for the support for making this possible for me each week! 😂👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Exploring the Roche Noire Lava Tube Trail in Mauritius | #steemexclusive / 11 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our blogs about travel, art, article and photo

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Haha! @shiftitamanna took one for the team!
Thank you teammate.

I absolutely love black and white photos. For me there is just so much more to read in them.

 3 months ago 

Agree with you. I feel that colors can disturbe, so that details can be missed.


We support quality posts and good comments posted anywhere and with any tag.

Curated by : @shiftitamanna

 3 months ago 

Thanks a lot! Much appreciated @shiftitamanna :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62954.14
ETH 3466.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51