Worrying About the World...

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 days ago

There's a fair bit of conventional wisdom that suggests it's folly to worry about things you have no control over... like wars, the economy, natural disasters, the weather and such.

20240829_011752.jpg

Whereas I can definitely appreciate the wisdom in that, it seems like one of those "easier said than done" things... just how am I supposed to do that?

I suppose one good thing is to stop watching the news, and to stop getting mired down in watching endless YouTube videos about extinction events and prepping for the end of the world... even if you actually find that stuff interesting.

My therapist of some years ago used to make a distinction between typical "clinical depression" and existential depression. The latter is what often afflicts people who worry about the "big things" and sometimes spin out of control over them.

20241003_005824.jpg

I tend to be a worryer.

There, I said it...

But it's a tendency that has been with me since I was a little kid, randomly worrying about the school bus getting in an accident or the train "forgetting" to stop at the station near our house.

I don't think I am necessarily pessimistic, although I do tend to look at a situation and see all the possible ways it can somehow go wrong, or turn out disappointing.

Honestly, I'm very ready for something to turn out better than expected... not that I typically have many expectations.

20241003_012300.jpg

But I am worried, these days... more than I used to be. I'm worried about "crazy stuff" coming out of this US Presidential election, particularly if the results aren't very clear in one direction or another.

And I am worried about being able to pay the bills... somthing I never thought would be an issue in my lifetime. That said, we were warned that Gen X - of which I am a "senior representative" - might become the first modern generation to not be as well off as their parents. Yeah, that came to pass for many... came to pass for me.

Do I worry about wars and such? Not a lot... although you never know what some crazy minority politician might do...

20240802_131311.jpg

But for now, all I'm worried about is getting this post done before I fall asleep!

Sorry if this was a bit of a depressing post, but thanks for stopping by, anyway!

How about you? Do you tend to be a worrier? Do you worry about "big things" in the world? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2024.10.03 01:48 PDT
x860/2094

Sort:  

Congrats, looks like your post turned into a "big thing" :)

I do tend to worry since I'm a thinker and I think a lot about a lot of things. But I think the biological reason that worrying evolved was to move us to action. We have to realize that if there is no action we can take to mitigate the worry's cause, or we decide not to take any action after a cost/benefit analysis, then we can decide the worrying is not doing what it was meant to do, and we can move on with our lives.

Maybe, maybe not. I'm not a psychologist. Just being "part of the conversation"

Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64