What Are the Earliest People and Events You Remember?

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Human memory is a fascinating thing to me!

Earlier today, Mrs. Denmarkguy and I we're sitting on our back patio drinking our afternoon coffee when we got on the topic of trying to remember the earliest things from our lives.

It's not the first time we've done this, but the thing I find most interesting about it is it each time we go through this little exercise it's invariably something different that comes to mind.

1004-Purple.jpg

My earliest memories tend to be rather patchy. That is to say, I don't remember anything long and sequential just a short specific image.

For example, I remember a blue plastic kiddie pool at my auntie's house that she would bring out when we were visiting during the summer when I was maybe three years old. In truth, however, it's not the kiddie pool that I remember but how the three of four inch layer of water would become quite warm in the summer sun. And I would sit there as a little kid, and somehow feel fascinated by the fact that this water was as warm as my bathwater while when it rained the water was cold.

I also remember the texture of some of the large flagstone pavers outside our garage. Most of them were various shades of gray and black and quite smooth, but mixed in with them were some that were a rusty brown color and these felt more like sandpaper and had a ”ripply” surface. I used to run my hand from the smooth to the ripply and back again.

1022-PinkRhodies.jpg

I remember the floor in our kitchen being made of white square of vinyl tiles with an occasional black stripe laid in towards the edges of the room. More specifically, I remember that the base cabinets on one side were ”floating” some 15 inches off the ground so I could slide under them and be hidden down there while my mother was cooking. By this point I was maybe four years old. I'm sure my mother was actually perfectly well aware that I was there but at least I believed that I was hiding!

I have to search my mind fairly extensively before I can find any longer and more cohesive memories. Most things from my childhood are just a series of snapshots.

1022-WhiteClematis.jpg

My first cohesive memory of something that happened over a period of time really doesn't come any sooner than age 15. By then my parents had divorced and we were living in the south of Spain, and "we" had become my mom and the man I came to think of as my stepdad. I was learning to play golf and had been playing for maybe 18 months when it turned out that the Spanish International Junior Championship was going to be played at a nearby course.

Not that I was good enough to be competitive or anything, my stepdad still thought it would be a good idea for me to have the experience a participating in a relatively major tournament. Somehow, I was good enough to qualify to sign up by a whisker. You had to have a *"playing handicap" of 10 or lower, and mine was 10. So I got signed up, and my parents took me over there on Thursday some weeks later for the 1st round of the tournament.

1035-Purples.jpg

In spite of being nervous, and a little starstruck by the fact that I was surrounded by young players of internationally competitive standard, I held my own pretty well. And much to everybody's surprise, in the second round the following day, I played one of the best rounds of golf I had up to that point in my brief “career.” As a result, I actually ”made the cut,” meaning that I would also get to play on Saturday and Sunday.

Incredibly, on Saturday I played even better than I had on Friday. I even remember but my playing partner for that round was a Belgian kid named Pierre Dufourg and we were both playing far better than our skill levels would suggest. I also remember watching him juggle two empty soda bottles much of the way around.

I don't remember much of the 4th and final round, except that my skill level returned more to its normal and predictable standard. But aside from that it was an experience that imprinted strongly on me, and it was also my first ”real" 72-hole golf tournament. And my playing handicap dropped from 10 to 5 in just four days.

1089-Fuchsias.jpg

When talking about memories, I have sometimes been asked who is the first person that I remember, aside from my parents and immediate family. Much as I searched my mind, the first person I can come up with was our neighbor's wife Birgitte who was always working at planting Flowers in their garden in the summers and she was also the first adult who permitted me to call her by her first name. Which seemed like a really big deal. I remember that my mom didn't much "like" her... for no reason other than the fact she was maybe in her late 20's and our neighbor was in his 60's.

Now I suppose I should conclude this little walk down memory lane by adding that these are the memories of somebody who just passed 60 years of age. So it's not like any of this stuff happened yesterday! Still, it's fun to think about these things and I suppose it's something people start to do more often as they enter the years where they have more life behind them than to come in front of them. I say that because I have no intention of making it to 120!

Thanks for reading and have a great remainder of your week!

How about YOU? What is the first thing you remember? Who is the first person you remember who was not your parents or a family member? What's the first thing you remember that's something more than just a quick image or snapshot in your head? Leave a comment — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — NOT A CROSSPOST!!!)
Created at 20210429 01:18 PDT
x163

Sort:  

Nice work! You just got yourself a $4.92 upvote. Enjoy! Check us out at acom.uno or swing by for a chat at ACOM Discord

My first memory is learning to walk by pushing a chair in front of me down the hallway. When I reached the end of the hallway my dad would come and turn the chair. Then I heard my dad say to my mom that he would not turn the chair and lets see what she will do. I got so mad and turned the chair myself.
When I was and adult my parents confirmed that it happed this way and they were shocked that I understood what thy were talking about since I was just over a year old at the time.

My friend really hopes for you, you can support my steemit account, because I want to improve my family's economy, I want to change my family's economy, I want to make my family happy, I hope you can support me, friends, thank you

Thank you for sharing your memories and it was interesting to learn about your youth and childhood time. Memories are something very special, the older we get the more precious they are. What I actually love that when we caught ourselves on recalling something especially some great events in our live, at that very moment there is an exposure of emotions, happiness and sweet moments that we store in our hearts. At such time I am sorry that we do not have time machine, I would love to travel back and observe that everything again even for very little moment. Who knows maybe in teh future it would be possible :)

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Memories keep popping up, but as you say they only come in short pictures.
As I read your post, my brain has started a posses and looking back in time.
What comes up is when I am approx. 4-5 years old is a picture of me getting angry at something and cracking my shoes off and throwing them off. I run on a road that has asphalt and manages to scrape up the toe while I run and start to bleed.
And there it stops with the picture that came up
I would think I was angry about something I was not allowed to do by my parents, or maybe I was not given an ice cream 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39