The Longest Day of the Year

in WORLD OF XPILAR8 days ago

Today marked the Summer Solstice, also known as the official beginning of summer, also known as the longest day of the year.

Of course, if you live in the Southern Hemisphere, it's the exact opposite, and you're welcoming the return of the light, now!

x777-SolsticeSunset.JPG

I've always loved the very long summer days we have, here in the high north. And we're not even as far north as my native Denmark, where I grew up.

I suppose it meant a lot to me as a kid because we were out of school, and could stay outside playing football (soccer) till it got dark.

Of course, these days I'm more oriented towards sitting in a comfy chair outside, watching the birds and insects go by... and just enjoying the beauty of nature.

x185-Sunset.jpg

Whereas I might be inclined to claim otherwise, I have pretty much always been more of an observer than a front-line participant in most aspects of life.

Even when I was little, I spent a lot of time just observing my surroundings, always studying what I was seeing in great detail. Much of this attention to detail ended up informing my later life... for example, the mandala patterns I have been painting on stones for 15 years or so are inspired by the patterns you might see at the center of a flower.

Think a white daisy is just white petals around a yellow "button" center? Think again! Look again! There are actually tiny "future seeds" in a spiraling pattern.

0022-Daisies.jpg

Being from a fairly cold place, this time of the year also meant the beginning of when we would start eating lunch and dinner outside... at least sometimes.

It also meant access to truly fresh food... food we'd mostly grown ourselves. Sometimes, there'd also be the fish we'd caught ourselves. There's just something about that degree of freshness that's hard to explain... but you can definitely taste it!

And it serves as a bit of a reminder of how far removed from the source of production we have grown, when we head to the supermarket and buy something that was "fresh" but put into a package, and then shipped across the country to our neighborhood.

0343-TomatoBowl.JPG
Tomatoes from the garden, last year

I'm busy these days... but did take a moment to observe and enjoy this longest day of the year.

Tomorrow, I'll be "up and at 'em" at oh-dark-thirty as the weekend fair begins and I am setting up my vendor table to sell artwork, and hopefully make a little supplemental income.

Already got my space partially set up today, and everything is unloaded and ready to be put out in a presentable fashion tomorrow, when the doors open at 8:00am... open to the public at 9:00am.

I suppose I am "living the dream" at least in the sense that I don't have to go to some soulless job every day!

0819-Daisy.JPG

And, on that light note, I'm going to head off for a few hours' sleep before the festivities begin!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great Friday!

How about you? Did you observe/celebrate the solstice today? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2024.06.20 23:44 PDT
x801/2035

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 8 days ago 

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

As a native of a country where summers are harsh, I have completey different sentiments towards summer solstice. Unlike you, we avoid outdoor activities as much as possible because the weather gets too hot, humid and suffocating around this time of the year. The only good thing is that, June solstice indicates shorter days ahead.

Ui poronto will begin the rainy season, the rainy and cloudy days look.

The shortest night of the year. :)

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcuratorXX We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



Curated by : @o1eh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57