Pausing to Catch my Breath!

in WORLD OF XPILAR11 months ago

It was a busy weekend here in our little corner of the world!

Friday, Saturday and Sunday last went with Mrs. Denmarkguy and I participating as vendors in a large local arts and crafts show in conjunction with a festival, here in our small seaside city.

20230912_235653.jpg

Vending at a street fair venue is a surprisingly large amount of work, particularly when you keep in mind that it's not just about the weekend you have your booth up, but also the weeks of preparation ahead of time, and the accounting and reorganization after the event.

Of course, a good part of the challenge is that "regular life" continues to unfold all around you, even as you are busy prepping... and once the event is over, there tends to be a huge amount of catch-up work waiting for you. This past weekend was no exception!

I sometimes wonder whether it's really worthwhile to participate in these events, because we don't necessarily make much money... but, at the same time, it's pretty much the only effective way for us to sell our artwork. Further evidence, I suppose, of the old myth of the "starving artist!"

20230915_160211.jpg

So now we're home again, and I am contemplating the 2nd half of September, trying to best figure out how to connect a limited amount of me with a seemingly endless number of projects screaming for my attention!

As always, I have moments of wishing that I could just dedicate all my time to writing and creative projects... but no such luck. It just isn't enough to support us on a daily basis, and I often can barely justify spending any of my time blogging. But I do, because it is also a mental health thing. Blogging is cathartic and a way to "work through things."

And there are definitely times when I benefit from sitting still for a while and working through the swirling thoughts inside my head!

20230902_002222.jpg

Like many people, I have lots of good intentions!

As we continue moving into fall and into the season was shorter days, I will hopefully have more time to sit down and write which after all is one of my favorite pastimes. I feel like this past summer has been so busy that I have barely had any time to do many of the things I really enjoy doing.

Then again, I suppose it is just a reality of this 21st century life we live that we don't always get to do what we want. As the years roll on, it feels like we have to spend more and more time on the simple infrastructure of life, that is, the things we have to do simply to function from day to day. As a result, there's less time for hobbies and enjoyable activities and there has ever been before.

20230816_182915.jpg

Can't complain too much, though!

I will do my best to focus on the positive, and to remember to be grateful for the good things that we do have time for!

And, with that thought, it's time for me to sign off for the day. As always, thanks for stopping by to read and I hope you have a marvelous weekend!

How about you? Does it often feel like your life gets overwhelming? Or do you have it under control? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2023.09.15 23:07 PDT
x617

Sort:  

It is always a question if to exhibit your art on such event or not and I agree, lately many people visit and just looking rather than buying. Over here the prices for energy, gas and mortgages are going up so not many people will spend many especially considering the end of the year holiday that many try to save their money for. But as you say it was a long time during Covid when the artists could not do much and there was no way of showing themselves and their art, so I think it was still worth to visit such place. Will see you around :)

 11 months ago 

Thanks for sharing your thoughts @stef1, things seem to be difficult for many people, pretty much all over the world.

Recently, I was watching a bit of a news documentary... which was taking about homelessness in California and it was surprising the people who were living in their cars, including a young doctor in San Francisco who simply didn't make enough money to pay on his student loans as well make a security deposit and two months rent to get into an apartment. He'd already lived in his car for four months, and expected to have to do so for six more while saving up. This was not a hamburger flipper, but a doctor. Something is very wrong.

So it's not a surprise that it is difficult to get people to buy art.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44