Content That Makes People Pause and THINK!

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

What do writers try to convey to the world? What is the message? What do you want people to come away with?

Or do you even think about that?

x0246-Pelicans.jpg

Much of my earliest online writing revolved around old-fashioned "message boards" where people would communicate with each other, much in the style of Facebook today, I suppose. But instead of "general" discussions, we were usually focused on particular areas or topics, whether it was hobbies or mental health support or something else.

Of course, many people just used these forums as their "bully pulpits" to complain about everything in their lives... but many were also there to sincerely learn more about themselves, and just to interact with like-kind souls.

And then there were the few whose missions was primarily to help people think. It wasn't about "giving instructions" to anyone, it was about offering up ideas that could change someone's perspective for the better.

x439-Strawberry.JPG

In many ways, it is this kind of idea that has informed my writing every since. I have never claimed to "have the answers" to anything, but if I can succeed in making even one person think twice about something and come away from the encounter feeling just a little bit better, then the effort will have been worth it.

I say this, as I rapidly approach my 7th anniversary here on Steemit. And I find myself pondering what it is I hope my writing here represents. And I come back to that same core idea: If I can help a few people change their perspectives in a way that somehow makes their lives a little easier... then I will have done the right thing, regardless of whether or not I am "rewarded" for my effort.

I guess caring about the well-being of others independently of whether or not there's anything in it for me is at the root of much of what I do; much of what I choose.

x113-JoshuaTree.jpg

In time, I have learned not to "throw myself away,"* as part of the process.

It tends to be a common downfall of those who help others that they offer assistance but to the detriment of themselves. Which is definitely not a healthy pattern!

Besides, I am definitely not a trained mental health professional! Which isn't to say that I always have a great deal of faith in the mental health profession... they are often quite clueless!

But back on track here... making people pause and think about their words; their situation; their beliefs... that I believe to be a worthy endeavor.

x191-Sage.jpg

Anyway, it's getting late here in our corner of the world, so I'd better toss this out there and go catch some zzz's!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great Sunday!

How about you? Do you consider HOW your content will reach people? What would you like the "effect" to be? What impression would you like to leave? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2024.01.27 23:47 PST
x685/1920

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51