The World of XPILAR - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #090: Tiny Planet; Tintagel Castle

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

The World of XPILAR - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #090:
Tiny Planet; Tintagel Castle


Hi. Thanks to @axeman and everyone who voted for me in last weeks contest - I got an honourable mention for my tiny planet image I took in Carnanton Woods. This is my entry for this weeks contest: The World of XPILAR - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #090. It is an image I took at the legendary Tintagel Castle, a location that is presumably linked to the fabled and mythical King of the Britons: Arthur. You can see the other tiny planet images I took at this location after the photo I have submitted for this weeks contest. 🤴 🏰

𝐓𝐢𝐧𝐲 𝐏𝐥𝐚𝐧𝐞𝐭; 𝐓𝐢𝐧𝐭𝐚𝐠𝐞𝐥 𝐂𝐚𝐬𝐭𝐥𝐞



click on the image to see a bigger version of it

The above image and the others on this page, were taken at Tintagel Castle, located on an island in North Cornwall, in the South West of England. I used my 360 degree camera and then created tiny planet images from these photos, by changing the angle or perspective, then edited (adjusting contrast, saturation, brightness) them using a useful app called SnapSeed on my phone. I created some interesting, striking imagery - haven't I? 😊

Myths and legends surround this castle connected to King Arthur and The Knight of the Round Table, but it is mere speculation and legend. There are many stories and locations in the UK which are linked to this fabled king and his court: Camelot, from Scotland, to Caerleon in South Wales, Cadbury Castle, Somerset and Glastonbury, to Hampshire, Shropshire, Cumbria, Northumberland and Yorkshire.

What is know about Tintagel Castle, is that in its early days and history (during the Dark Ages), there was trade with the Mediterranean and different countries, such as Greece and Turkey, as pottery from these areas have been found on this site. It is believed that oil and wine was traded in exchange for the much sought after Cornish Tin, where it has been mined for around 4,000 years in this region. It is said it was originally an Iron Age fort, then possibly a settlement or fort, then much later, a medieval castle was build on the site, which are the ruins that you see and still stand today.

Here are some of the other photos (or most striking ones) that I created from the 360 degree pics I took at this location:


An inverted image from the above photo


Some of the ruins of Tintagel Castle


An inverted tiny planet image of the above photo


Near the edge of the cliffs at the castle


At the edge of one of the cliffs at the castle overlooking the scenery


Gallos, an 8-foot-tall bronze sculpture representing the mythical King Arthur,
stands atop the cliffs on the peninsula overlooking the sea


At the castle, with the Camelot Hotel in the background/distance


An inverted tiny plant image taken on the cliffs at Tintagel Castle

Have you seen my previous posts, photos, including my tiny planet photos and videos? Click on the link or photo below to go to this page. I hope you liked these different and unusual images and see you next time in the next post. 🌐 👍


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36