The World of XPILAR - CITYSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #086: View From The London Eye

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

The World of XPILAR - CITYSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY
AND ART CONTEST WEEK #086:
View From The London Eye


Hello @steemians! This image is my entry for The World of XPILAR - CITYSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #086. It is a night pic taken from the London Eye! Thanks to @xpilar, @axeman, the moderators and members of the World of Xpilar! 🎡 🌆

View From The London Eye



click on the image to see a bigger version of it

The image above (and the ones below) were taken on the London Eye when my wife and I took a romantic trip on this iconic landmark on her birthday. I think the image above was probably the best one I took that night of the city, which includes Big Ben, The River Thames, Westminster Bridge and The Houses of Parliament. What do you think of the pic? Have you taken some interesting, striking images of the capital city of the UK?

Here are some other images I took that night on the London Eye: 😊







I hope you like the post, images and my submission? Be sure to look at my blog and follow me. I submit posts about my life in Brazil, my life in the UK, photography, which includes tiny planet photos and videos taken with my 360 degree camera. I'll look at and upvote on some of the other submissions in the other contests on the @worldofxpilar community.
See you soon. 👍 😁

Click on the image or link below to go to my page or blog:
📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Lovely pictures. I used to live along the river from there just next to Tower Bridge. The walk from where you are there to where I lived would take you past so many iconic London monuments - did you used to live in London too?

 3 years ago 

Hi @the-gorilla. Thanks, I'm from Cornwall, not from London, but I've visited the capital and stayed there many times. I'm curious, what did you like the most about living in London? :)

 3 years ago 

I've always loved Cornwall and that part of the country. The beaches are beautiful. Were you close enough to the sea to walk?

what did you like the most about living in London?

Tough question - I was brought up in Reading so London was never too far away (which meant I never had any intention of living there) and then I got a short-term job there and loved it. I think that the thing I loved most was that there's always something to do, somewhere to go and things to see. When I lived by Tower Bridge, I would run along the river past The Mayors Building, Monument, HMS Belfast, The Tate, The Eye, Westminster and back over the Millennium Bridge (and probably a ton of other attractions that I have forgotten about!).

Having lived there, I never thought I'd leave (I also had a home on the Seafront near Bournemouth so the best of both worlds) and then the opportunity to live by the Seaside was too good to resist.

What made you head over to Brazil and live there?

 3 years ago 

Hi. I moved to Brazil because the person I love lives here, my wife is Brazilian. The process of obtaining a visa for my wife to live and join me in the UK is difficult and can be unfairly biased, so I decided the best, fastest and easiest way was to leave my country. I love my country/England, so we would like to live and move to the UK in the future if it's possible. If not, there's European countries or Southern Ireland, we will see what we can do.

Cornwall is nice, but it's the opposite to London, in London you can concentrate on your career and making money because of the great salary that you can receive and there's always something to do in London, you can never get bored of it. In Cornwall, it can be quiet and boring, especially during the winter months and when your friends/people don't want to do anything. In some places, there nothing to do as it's a seasonal tourist destination and places are closed and the centre of attraction or activity in the evening is the local pub, which doesn't interest me! 😊

 3 years ago 

I'd have expected the VISA process to be easier when you're married - I guess there's a lot of luck involved, especially with the anti-immigration policies which the current government seem to have. I'm certainly not an expert and not one to get into politics!

To compensate for the better salaries available in London, the cost of living is extortionate. A 1 bed flat will cost something like £1,200 per month in rent which is a large chunk of most people's salaries. Unless you're willing to commute from further out, I think most people would be better off financially living and working in their home town. But like you say, you'd never get bored of London, there's always somewhere to go and people to see. Once you leave though, you'll wonder why you spent hours every day sat on the tube travelling to and from work! I'm glad I had the opportunity to live there. I'm also glad that I left 🙂

I can't really imagine what life would be like living somewhere that only really wakes up in the holiday season... especially if you're not a fan of a night in the pub! What's it like where you live in Brazil? I think the British media has painted quite a bad picture of Brazil lately.

 3 years ago (edited)

Hello. The situation in Brazil is complicated, politically speaking :) It's warm here most of the year and the food's really nice and it's laid back, but there's flaws or bad points. Mainly corruption and crime. It's not safe here, especially for "gringos" (don't flash your valuables and money and don't speak English in certain situations and locations, unless you want to attract unwanted attention and put your safety and life at risk).

You may have also heard bad stories about the President; Jair Bolsornaro. News stories and media outside of Brazil may paint him as extreme or dangerous, or a dictator (or all three of these). He's not that bad from my point of view and to many Brazilians. Most people voted for him because they wanted a change in the country because they want to get rid of corruption and to curb/ and fight crime. On one hand, it's said, or a lot of people believe, the previous government or party that was in power (PT) was corrupt. So people voted for a new president for big and new change. On the other hand, some people say the previous government was accused of false allegations and it's a lie, they were not corrupt. As I said, it's complicated here, politically...

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thanks Stef1! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66